Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Providing Culturally Sensitive and Linguistically Appropriate Services: An Insider Construct

 
Author(s) Sharla Peltier
Volume 35
Number 2
Year 2011
Page(s) 126-135
Language English
Category
Keywords CULTURALLY
SENSITIVE LINGUISTICALLY APPROPRIATE FIRST
NATIONS ENGLISH
DIALECT THERAPEUTIC
PROCESS ABORIGINAL
Abstract This article is written by an Aboriginal speech-language pathologist to provide an insider perspective on assessment and intervention practices relevant to Aboriginal communities, in particular the Ojibway-speaking Anishinaabe people of the Great Lakes region of Ontario. The author presents information about dialect differences in these communities and describes a therapeutic approach for working with children who speak a First Nations English Dialect (FNED). Culturally sensitive practices are also outlined with specific suggestions for appropriate service delivery to this population.

Le présent article, signé par une orthophoniste autochtone, donne un point de vue de l’intérieur sur les pratiques d’évaluation et d’intervention visant les communautés autochtones, surtout le peuple anishinaabe de la région des Grands Lacs en Ontario qui parle l’ojibwe. L’auteure y présente de l’information sur les différences de dialectes dans ces communautés et décrit une démarche thérapeutique menée auprès d’enfants qui parlent un dialecte anglais des Premières Nations. Elle y fournit des suggestions précises pour offrir des services adaptés à cette population.
Record ID 1065
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_02_103-213/Peltier_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Providing Culturally Sensitive and Linguistically Appropriate Services: An Insider Construct

 
Auteur(s) Sharla Peltier
Volume 35
Nombre 2
Année 2011
Page(s) 126-135
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés CULTURALLY
SENSITIVE LINGUISTICALLY APPROPRIATE FIRST
NATIONS ENGLISH
DIALECT THERAPEUTIC
PROCESS ABORIGINAL
Abrégé This article is written by an Aboriginal speech-language pathologist to provide an insider perspective on assessment and intervention practices relevant to Aboriginal communities, in particular the Ojibway-speaking Anishinaabe people of the Great Lakes region of Ontario. The author presents information about dialect differences in these communities and describes a therapeutic approach for working with children who speak a First Nations English Dialect (FNED). Culturally sensitive practices are also outlined with specific suggestions for appropriate service delivery to this population.

Le présent article, signé par une orthophoniste autochtone, donne un point de vue de l’intérieur sur les pratiques d’évaluation et d’intervention visant les communautés autochtones, surtout le peuple anishinaabe de la région des Grands Lacs en Ontario qui parle l’ojibwe. L’auteure y présente de l’information sur les différences de dialectes dans ces communautés et décrit une démarche thérapeutique menée auprès d’enfants qui parlent un dialecte anglais des Premières Nations. Elle y fournit des suggestions précises pour offrir des services adaptés à cette population.
ID 1065
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_02_103-213/Peltier_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.