Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Oral-Motor and Respiratory Changes in Children With Spastic Cerebral Palsy Following Selective Posterior Rhizotomy

 
Author(s) Phyliss Flower
Volume 17
Number 2
Year 1993
Page(s) 87-92
Language English
Category
Keywords spastic
cerebral
palsy
selective
posterior
rhizotomy
speech
oral-motor
respiration
feeding
drooling
posture
Abstract Selective posterior rhizotomy (SPR) is a neurosurgical procedure performed to reduce spasticity in the lower extremities of children with spastic cerebral palsy. Sensory nerve rootlets in the lumbar area that are associated with abnormal responses on electrical stimulation are severed in this procedure. The secondary benefits reported are the increased function in the upper extremities as well as improvement in speech intelligibility, length of utterance, respiratory function, feeding and decreased drooling. One child, who demonstrated improvement in several areas, is the focus of this article and speculation regarding reasons for improvement are discussed. Assessment of oral-motor and speech functions with
respect to both instrumental and perceptual measures is examined. The importance of having a speech-language pathologist on the
rhizotomy team is also addressed.



La rhizotomie postérieure sélective est une intervention neurochirurgicale qui vise à réduire la spasmodicité des membres inférieurs chez les enfants ayant la paralysie cérébrale spasmodique. Elle comprend le sectionnement de racines de nerfs sensitifs de la région lombaire qui sont associés à des réactions anormales à la stimulation électrique. Cette intervention a pour avantages secondaires un meilleur fonctionnement des membres supérieurs, une amélioration de l'intelligibilité de la parole, de la longueur de l'énoncé, de la respiratiton et de l'alimentation et une réduction du bavage. Le présent article porte sur un enfant qui a présenté des améliorations à plusieurs égards et offre des hypothèses sur les causes de ces améliorations. En outre, on y aborde l'évaluation de la motricité orale et de la parole par des mesures instrumentales et perceptives. On mentionne également qu'il est important qu 'un/e orthophoniste fasse partie de I'équipe de rhizotomie.
Record ID 952
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/No_02_79-137/Flower_HumComm_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Oral-Motor and Respiratory Changes in Children With Spastic Cerebral Palsy Following Selective Posterior Rhizotomy

 
Auteur(s) Phyliss Flower
Volume 17
Nombre 2
Année 1993
Page(s) 87-92
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés spastic
cerebral
palsy
selective
posterior
rhizotomy
speech
oral-motor
respiration
feeding
drooling
posture
Abrégé Selective posterior rhizotomy (SPR) is a neurosurgical procedure performed to reduce spasticity in the lower extremities of children with spastic cerebral palsy. Sensory nerve rootlets in the lumbar area that are associated with abnormal responses on electrical stimulation are severed in this procedure. The secondary benefits reported are the increased function in the upper extremities as well as improvement in speech intelligibility, length of utterance, respiratory function, feeding and decreased drooling. One child, who demonstrated improvement in several areas, is the focus of this article and speculation regarding reasons for improvement are discussed. Assessment of oral-motor and speech functions with
respect to both instrumental and perceptual measures is examined. The importance of having a speech-language pathologist on the
rhizotomy team is also addressed.



La rhizotomie postérieure sélective est une intervention neurochirurgicale qui vise à réduire la spasmodicité des membres inférieurs chez les enfants ayant la paralysie cérébrale spasmodique. Elle comprend le sectionnement de racines de nerfs sensitifs de la région lombaire qui sont associés à des réactions anormales à la stimulation électrique. Cette intervention a pour avantages secondaires un meilleur fonctionnement des membres supérieurs, une amélioration de l'intelligibilité de la parole, de la longueur de l'énoncé, de la respiratiton et de l'alimentation et une réduction du bavage. Le présent article porte sur un enfant qui a présenté des améliorations à plusieurs égards et offre des hypothèses sur les causes de ces améliorations. En outre, on y aborde l'évaluation de la motricité orale et de la parole par des mesures instrumentales et perceptives. On mentionne également qu'il est important qu 'un/e orthophoniste fasse partie de I'équipe de rhizotomie.
ID 952
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/No_02_79-137/Flower_HumComm_1993.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.