Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Phonetic Notation System of Melville Bell and its Role in the History of Phonetics

 
Author(s) Judith Felson Duchan
Volume 30
Number 1
Year 2006
Page(s) 14-17
Language English
Category
Keywords history
phonetics
visible
speech
phonetic
alphabet
Abstract Alexander Melville Bell was an inventor, like his son Alexander Graham Bell. In 1867, Melville Bell invented the first universal phonetic alphabetic system, one that he called “Visible Speech.” Visible Speech was also used by elocutionists of the time to teach speech production to the deaf and to people with stuttering and articulatory problems. Some aspects of Melville Bell’s phonetics contribution had a lasting impact on the science of phonetics, especially in its representation of vowels. Other aspects, such as the notation system he used, were lost to posterity. This article argues that Melville Bell’s work can offer a case study, of sorts, to illustrate that one cannot assume today’s practices will be long lasting ones.


Alexander Melville Bell était inventeur, comme son fils Alexander Graham Bell. En 1867, Melville Bell a inventé le premier alphabet phonétique universel, qu’il a baptisé « Visible Speech » (le langage visible). Les professeurs d’élocution de l’époque ont également utilisé le langage visible pour enseigner la production de sons aux sourds et aux gens ayant des problèmes de bégaiement et d’articulation. Certains volets de la contribution de Melville Bell à la phonétique ont eu un effet durable sur la science de la phonétique, notamment dans sa représentation des voyelles. D’autres volets, tel le système de notation qu’il employait, n’ont pas passé à la postérité. Cet article soutient que les travaux de Melville Bell peuvent servir d’étude de cas, en quelque sorte, pour illustrer le fait qu’on ne peut pas supposer que les pratiques d’aujourd’hui perdureront.
Record ID 913
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2006_JSLPA_Vol_30/No_01_1-80/Duchan_JSLPA_2006.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Phonetic Notation System of Melville Bell and its Role in the History of Phonetics

 
Auteur(s) Judith Felson Duchan
Volume 30
Nombre 1
Année 2006
Page(s) 14-17
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés history
phonetics
visible
speech
phonetic
alphabet
Abrégé Alexander Melville Bell was an inventor, like his son Alexander Graham Bell. In 1867, Melville Bell invented the first universal phonetic alphabetic system, one that he called “Visible Speech.” Visible Speech was also used by elocutionists of the time to teach speech production to the deaf and to people with stuttering and articulatory problems. Some aspects of Melville Bell’s phonetics contribution had a lasting impact on the science of phonetics, especially in its representation of vowels. Other aspects, such as the notation system he used, were lost to posterity. This article argues that Melville Bell’s work can offer a case study, of sorts, to illustrate that one cannot assume today’s practices will be long lasting ones.


Alexander Melville Bell était inventeur, comme son fils Alexander Graham Bell. En 1867, Melville Bell a inventé le premier alphabet phonétique universel, qu’il a baptisé « Visible Speech » (le langage visible). Les professeurs d’élocution de l’époque ont également utilisé le langage visible pour enseigner la production de sons aux sourds et aux gens ayant des problèmes de bégaiement et d’articulation. Certains volets de la contribution de Melville Bell à la phonétique ont eu un effet durable sur la science de la phonétique, notamment dans sa représentation des voyelles. D’autres volets, tel le système de notation qu’il employait, n’ont pas passé à la postérité. Cet article soutient que les travaux de Melville Bell peuvent servir d’étude de cas, en quelque sorte, pour illustrer le fait qu’on ne peut pas supposer que les pratiques d’aujourd’hui perdureront.
ID 913
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2006_JSLPA_Vol_30/No_01_1-80/Duchan_JSLPA_2006.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.