Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

A Modular Treatment for Sentence Processing Impairments: Sentence Comprehension

 
Author(s) Elizabeth Rochon
Sonia Reichman
Volume 28
Number 1
Year 2004
Page(s) 25-33
Language English
Category
Keywords Sentence
comprehension
aphasia
treatment
mapping
therapy
production
Abstract A new treatment for sentence comprehension impairment was investigated in an individual with aphasia. This comprehension module of treatment followed therapy for sentence production difficulties in the same patient-D.L. (Rochon & Reichman, 2003). The treatment programme employed an object manipulation procedure and a sentence query approach (Fink, Schwartz & Myers, 1998). Treatment of complex sentence types (passive and object cleft sentences) resulted in acquisition for both treated and untreated exemplars of the sentence types trained. Treatment effects also were maintained at two follow-up sessions. There was no generalization of treatment gains to two novel sentence comprehension tasks. However, there was generalization to sentence production abilities on a constrained task of sentence production. Results are discussed with reference to the underlying operations in sentence comprehension and production.



Un nouveau traitement pour les problèmes de compréhension de phrases a été étudié auprès d'un individu avec aphasie. Ce module de traitement de la compréhension faisait suite à une thérapie visant la production de phrases, auprès du même patient-D.L. (Rochon & Reichman, 2003). Le traitement consistait à manipuler un objet et à utiliser des phrases interrogatives (Fink, Schwartz & Myers, 1998). Comme résultat, à la suite du traitement des phrases complexes (phrases passives et phrases avec complément d'objet), l'acquisition des types de phrases traitées et même celles de type non-traitées a été notée. Les effets du traitement étaient toujours présents même à la deuxième session de suivi. Il n'y avait pas de généralisation du gain obtenu à la suite du traitement pour les tâches impliquant la compréhension de phrases à double intentions. Cependant, il a eu généralisation pour la production de phrases lors de tâches de production forcée de phrases. Les résultats sont discutés en lien avec les opérations à la base de la production et de la compréhension de phrases.
Record ID 844
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2004_JSLPA_Vol_28/No_01_1-71/Rochon_Reichman_JSLPA_2004.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

A Modular Treatment for Sentence Processing Impairments: Sentence Comprehension

 
Auteur(s) Elizabeth Rochon
Sonia Reichman
Volume 28
Nombre 1
Année 2004
Page(s) 25-33
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés Sentence
comprehension
aphasia
treatment
mapping
therapy
production
Abrégé A new treatment for sentence comprehension impairment was investigated in an individual with aphasia. This comprehension module of treatment followed therapy for sentence production difficulties in the same patient-D.L. (Rochon & Reichman, 2003). The treatment programme employed an object manipulation procedure and a sentence query approach (Fink, Schwartz & Myers, 1998). Treatment of complex sentence types (passive and object cleft sentences) resulted in acquisition for both treated and untreated exemplars of the sentence types trained. Treatment effects also were maintained at two follow-up sessions. There was no generalization of treatment gains to two novel sentence comprehension tasks. However, there was generalization to sentence production abilities on a constrained task of sentence production. Results are discussed with reference to the underlying operations in sentence comprehension and production.



Un nouveau traitement pour les problèmes de compréhension de phrases a été étudié auprès d'un individu avec aphasie. Ce module de traitement de la compréhension faisait suite à une thérapie visant la production de phrases, auprès du même patient-D.L. (Rochon & Reichman, 2003). Le traitement consistait à manipuler un objet et à utiliser des phrases interrogatives (Fink, Schwartz & Myers, 1998). Comme résultat, à la suite du traitement des phrases complexes (phrases passives et phrases avec complément d'objet), l'acquisition des types de phrases traitées et même celles de type non-traitées a été notée. Les effets du traitement étaient toujours présents même à la deuxième session de suivi. Il n'y avait pas de généralisation du gain obtenu à la suite du traitement pour les tâches impliquant la compréhension de phrases à double intentions. Cependant, il a eu généralisation pour la production de phrases lors de tâches de production forcée de phrases. Les résultats sont discutés en lien avec les opérations à la base de la production et de la compréhension de phrases.
ID 844
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2004_JSLPA_Vol_28/No_01_1-71/Rochon_Reichman_JSLPA_2004.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.