Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Speech and Language Services Using Telehealth Technology In Remote and Underserviced Areas

 
Author(s) ShawnaLee Margaret Jessiman
Volume 27
Number 1
Year 2003
Page(s) 45-51
Language English
Category
Keywords telehealth
speech-language
pathology
assessment
treatment
rehabilitation
service
delivery
Abstract The use of telehealth technology was used to determine if it was a potentially effective and efficient method of providing speech and language services in remote and historically underserviced areas in northern Alberta. Speech and language assessments were completed on two school-aged children using both telehealth technology and in-person assessments to compare the sound quality and overall efficacy of the telehealth system. Several technological and logistical problems requiring modification were encountered both during the assessment and treatment services. Based on these problems and modifications, suggestions are made with regard to appropriate equipment, room set-up, personnel, client selection, and service delivery. Even given the difficulties experienced, the effectiveness of the telehealth technology appears promising.


La technologie de télésanté a été utilisée afin de déterminer si celle-ci peut constituer une méthode efficace et efficiente d’offrir des services orthophoniques en régions éloignées et généralement sous-desservies du nord de l’Alberta. Des évaluations orthophoniques ont été effectuées auprès de deux enfants d’âge scolaire en employant à la fois la technologie de télésanté et l’évaluation en personne afin de comparer la qualité audio et l’efficacité générale du système de télésanté. Plusieurs difficultés technologiques et logistiques nécessitant des correctifs ont été relevées pendant l’évaluation et le traitement. Compte tenu de ces problèmes et modifications, des suggestions ont été faites à l’égard de l’équipement approprié, de la disposition de la pièce, du personnel, de la sélection du client et de la prestation des services. En dépit des difficultés notées, l’efficacité de la technologie de télésanté semble prometteuse.
Record ID 819
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2003_JSLPA_Vol_27/No_01_1-92/Jessiman_JSLPA_2003.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Speech and Language Services Using Telehealth Technology In Remote and Underserviced Areas

 
Auteur(s) ShawnaLee Margaret Jessiman
Volume 27
Nombre 1
Année 2003
Page(s) 45-51
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés telehealth
speech-language
pathology
assessment
treatment
rehabilitation
service
delivery
Abrégé The use of telehealth technology was used to determine if it was a potentially effective and efficient method of providing speech and language services in remote and historically underserviced areas in northern Alberta. Speech and language assessments were completed on two school-aged children using both telehealth technology and in-person assessments to compare the sound quality and overall efficacy of the telehealth system. Several technological and logistical problems requiring modification were encountered both during the assessment and treatment services. Based on these problems and modifications, suggestions are made with regard to appropriate equipment, room set-up, personnel, client selection, and service delivery. Even given the difficulties experienced, the effectiveness of the telehealth technology appears promising.


La technologie de télésanté a été utilisée afin de déterminer si celle-ci peut constituer une méthode efficace et efficiente d’offrir des services orthophoniques en régions éloignées et généralement sous-desservies du nord de l’Alberta. Des évaluations orthophoniques ont été effectuées auprès de deux enfants d’âge scolaire en employant à la fois la technologie de télésanté et l’évaluation en personne afin de comparer la qualité audio et l’efficacité générale du système de télésanté. Plusieurs difficultés technologiques et logistiques nécessitant des correctifs ont été relevées pendant l’évaluation et le traitement. Compte tenu de ces problèmes et modifications, des suggestions ont été faites à l’égard de l’équipement approprié, de la disposition de la pièce, du personnel, de la sélection du client et de la prestation des services. En dépit des difficultés notées, l’efficacité de la technologie de télésanté semble prometteuse.
ID 819
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2003_JSLPA_Vol_27/No_01_1-92/Jessiman_JSLPA_2003.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.