Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Characteristics of the Aging Female Voice

 
Author(s) Tanya L. Eadie
Volume 24
Number 4
Year 2000
Page(s) 162-179
Language English
Category
Keywords aging
voice
quality
female
perception
Abstract This review addresses findings from recent literature pertaining to characteristics of the normal aging female voice. General theories of biological aging are discussed along with the specific effects of the aging process on the anatomical structures and physiologic function of the female larynx. Although age-related changes are noted in the respiratory and the supralaryngeal systems which influence voice production, the present review specifically focuses on biological changes to cartilage, soft tissue, muscular structures, as well as to the neural innervation of the larynx. Measurement of the female voice at physiological, acoustic, and perceptual levels also is summarized to clarify the relationships among the age-related changes observed at all three levels. Results indicate that there are normal differences between male and female speakers due to physiology, differences in the aging process and its relative effects on anatomic structures, and subsequent differences in selected acoustic characteristics of the voice signal. However, studies measuring perceptual features inherent to the aging female speaker are lacking. In order to determine what features can be attributed to normal aging as opposed to disease conditions, it is mandatory that perceptual research with the female population be undertaken. Auditory-perceptual investigations will serve as a first step to understand the aging process on voice production. This knowledge may aid in earlier recognition of age-related voice problems, with potential intervention and improvement in the quality of the life for those individuals who seek treatment.



Cette étude porte sur les constatations présentées dans la documentation récente au sujet des caractéristiques de la voix normale des femmes vieillissantes. On y aborde les théories générales du vieillissement biologique ainsi que les effets spécifiques du processus de vieillissement sur les structures anatomiques et les fonctions physiologiques du larynx féminin. Même si l'on y fait ressortir au niveau des systèmes respiratoire et supralaryngé des changements liés à l'âge qui influencent la production de la voix, l'enquête traite particulièrement des changements biologiques du cartilage, du tissu mou, des structures musculaires ainsi que de l'innervation neuronale du larynx. La mesure de la voix féminine en termes physiologiques, acoustiques et perceptifs est également résumée en vue de clarifier le rapport entre les changements liés à l'âge observés aux trois niveaux. Les résultats révèlent des différences physiologiques normales entre les locuteurs masculins et féminins, des différences au niveau du processus de vieillissement et de ses effets relatifs sur les structures anatomiques, ainsi que des différences subséquentes dans certaines caractéristiques acoustiques du signal vocal. Cependant, les études manquent en ce qui concerne la mesure des caractéristiques perceptives inhérentes au locuteur féminin vieillissant. Pour déterminer quels traits sont attribuables au vieillissement normal comparativement aux cas de maladie, il est impératif d'entreprendre des recherches perceptives sur la population féminine. Des enquêtes de type auditif et perceptif permettront de commencer à comprendre le processus de vieillissement et ses effets sur la production vocale. Les connaissances ainsi acquises pourront aider à la reconnaissance plus rapide des problèmes de voix liés à une éventuelle intervention permettant d'améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes qui se font traiter.
Record ID 43
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2000_JSLPA_Vol_24/No_04_145-196/Eadie_JSLPA_2000.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Characteristics of the Aging Female Voice

 
Auteur(s) Tanya L. Eadie
Volume 24
Nombre 4
Année 2000
Page(s) 162-179
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés aging
voice
quality
female
perception
Abrégé This review addresses findings from recent literature pertaining to characteristics of the normal aging female voice. General theories of biological aging are discussed along with the specific effects of the aging process on the anatomical structures and physiologic function of the female larynx. Although age-related changes are noted in the respiratory and the supralaryngeal systems which influence voice production, the present review specifically focuses on biological changes to cartilage, soft tissue, muscular structures, as well as to the neural innervation of the larynx. Measurement of the female voice at physiological, acoustic, and perceptual levels also is summarized to clarify the relationships among the age-related changes observed at all three levels. Results indicate that there are normal differences between male and female speakers due to physiology, differences in the aging process and its relative effects on anatomic structures, and subsequent differences in selected acoustic characteristics of the voice signal. However, studies measuring perceptual features inherent to the aging female speaker are lacking. In order to determine what features can be attributed to normal aging as opposed to disease conditions, it is mandatory that perceptual research with the female population be undertaken. Auditory-perceptual investigations will serve as a first step to understand the aging process on voice production. This knowledge may aid in earlier recognition of age-related voice problems, with potential intervention and improvement in the quality of the life for those individuals who seek treatment.



Cette étude porte sur les constatations présentées dans la documentation récente au sujet des caractéristiques de la voix normale des femmes vieillissantes. On y aborde les théories générales du vieillissement biologique ainsi que les effets spécifiques du processus de vieillissement sur les structures anatomiques et les fonctions physiologiques du larynx féminin. Même si l'on y fait ressortir au niveau des systèmes respiratoire et supralaryngé des changements liés à l'âge qui influencent la production de la voix, l'enquête traite particulièrement des changements biologiques du cartilage, du tissu mou, des structures musculaires ainsi que de l'innervation neuronale du larynx. La mesure de la voix féminine en termes physiologiques, acoustiques et perceptifs est également résumée en vue de clarifier le rapport entre les changements liés à l'âge observés aux trois niveaux. Les résultats révèlent des différences physiologiques normales entre les locuteurs masculins et féminins, des différences au niveau du processus de vieillissement et de ses effets relatifs sur les structures anatomiques, ainsi que des différences subséquentes dans certaines caractéristiques acoustiques du signal vocal. Cependant, les études manquent en ce qui concerne la mesure des caractéristiques perceptives inhérentes au locuteur féminin vieillissant. Pour déterminer quels traits sont attribuables au vieillissement normal comparativement aux cas de maladie, il est impératif d'entreprendre des recherches perceptives sur la population féminine. Des enquêtes de type auditif et perceptif permettront de commencer à comprendre le processus de vieillissement et ses effets sur la production vocale. Les connaissances ainsi acquises pourront aider à la reconnaissance plus rapide des problèmes de voix liés à une éventuelle intervention permettant d'améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes qui se font traiter.
ID 43
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2000_JSLPA_Vol_24/No_04_145-196/Eadie_JSLPA_2000.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.