Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Phonological Awareness: Normally Developing and Language Delayed Children

 
Author(s) Nicola Warrick
Hyla Rubin
Volume 16
Number 1
Year 1992
Page(s) 11-20
Language English
Category
Keywords phonological
awareness
linguistic
language
Abstract This study compared 15 normal and 13 language delayed four and five-year-old children on a range of tasks of phonological awareness. The tasks differed in the degree of explicit linguistic analysis that was required. The language delayed group always performed below the level of the normal children, and there were significant group differences on several tasks. A significant interaction effect reflected the greater difficulty language delayed children experienced with tasks that required the most explicit analysis. The tasks used in this study could be used in intervention research with language delayed children. They can also be used in therapy and classroom activities to enhance linguistic awareness skills thought to be critical for oral and written language development.



Cette étude a comparé 15 enfants normaux et 13 enfants atteints de retard de langage, tous âgés de 4 et 5 ans, relativement à une variété de tâches de conscience phonologique. Celles-ci variaient pour ce qui concerne le degré d'analyse métalinguistique requise. Le rendement du groupe d'enfants atteints d'un retard de language a été inferieur à celui du groupe d'enfants normaux, et d'importantes différences ont été notées entre les groupes pour ce qui est de plusieurs tâches. L'important effet d'interaction reflétait les difficultés plus grandes rencontrées par les enfants atteints de retard de langage dans les tâches exigeant une analyse métalinguistique plus élaborée. Les tâches utilisées dans cette étude pourraient être utilisées en thérapie et en classe pour améliorer la conscience linguistique jugée essentielle au développment du langage oral et écrit.
Record ID 374
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1992_JSLPA_Vol_16/No_01_1-88/Warrick_Rubin_JSLPA_1992.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Phonological Awareness: Normally Developing and Language Delayed Children

 
Auteur(s) Nicola Warrick
Hyla Rubin
Volume 16
Nombre 1
Année 1992
Page(s) 11-20
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés phonological
awareness
linguistic
language
Abrégé This study compared 15 normal and 13 language delayed four and five-year-old children on a range of tasks of phonological awareness. The tasks differed in the degree of explicit linguistic analysis that was required. The language delayed group always performed below the level of the normal children, and there were significant group differences on several tasks. A significant interaction effect reflected the greater difficulty language delayed children experienced with tasks that required the most explicit analysis. The tasks used in this study could be used in intervention research with language delayed children. They can also be used in therapy and classroom activities to enhance linguistic awareness skills thought to be critical for oral and written language development.



Cette étude a comparé 15 enfants normaux et 13 enfants atteints de retard de langage, tous âgés de 4 et 5 ans, relativement à une variété de tâches de conscience phonologique. Celles-ci variaient pour ce qui concerne le degré d'analyse métalinguistique requise. Le rendement du groupe d'enfants atteints d'un retard de language a été inferieur à celui du groupe d'enfants normaux, et d'importantes différences ont été notées entre les groupes pour ce qui est de plusieurs tâches. L'important effet d'interaction reflétait les difficultés plus grandes rencontrées par les enfants atteints de retard de langage dans les tâches exigeant une analyse métalinguistique plus élaborée. Les tâches utilisées dans cette étude pourraient être utilisées en thérapie et en classe pour améliorer la conscience linguistique jugée essentielle au développment du langage oral et écrit.
ID 374
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1992_JSLPA_Vol_16/No_01_1-88/Warrick_Rubin_JSLPA_1992.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.