Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Nontraditional Auditory Assessment: Beyond the Audiogram

 
Author(s) David A Fabry
Wayne O Olsen
Volume 17
Number 4
Year 1993
Page(s) 58-64
Language English
Category
Keywords hearing
aid
loss
evaluation
Abstract Hearing aid fitting continues to be based primarily on audiometric pure tone thresholds. Although the underlying goal of many prescriptive formulas is improved speech recognition, actual evaluation with suprathreshold stimuli (such as speech) is rare. Furthermore, assessment of benefit from hearing aids in real world environments is often based on nonstandardized anecdotal evidence. The objective of this manuscript is to consider several procedures that may be used to assess hearing aid candidacy and to evaluate benefit from amplification. These measures include: (1) efficient, reliable speech recognition tests; (2) masking pattern data; (3) aided and unaided loudness discomfort measures; (4) self-assessment scales of hearing aid performance; and (5) user selected frequency responses. The feasibility of using each of these measures in clinical practice will be discussed.



L'ajustement des prothèses auditives se base principalement sur les seuils auditifs. Même si l'objectif d'un bon nombre de formules prescriptives est d'améliorer l'intelligibilité de la parole, l'évaluation pour les stimuli supra-liminaires (comme la parole) est rare. De plus, l'évaluation des avantages des prothèses auditives dans des contextes réalistes est souvent fondée sur des preuves non scientifiques et non standardisées. Les auteurs examinent plusieurs protocoles pour évaluer la candidature et les bénéfices à l'amplification. Ces mesures comprennent notamment les suivantes : (1) examens vocaux efficaces et fiables pour l'intelligibilité de la parole; (2) données sur l'assourdissement: (3) mesures d'inconfort causé par l'intensité sonore, avec et sans amplification; (4) échelles d'auto-évaluation du rendement des prothèses auditives; (5) réponses fréquentielles préférées par l'utilisateur. Les auteurs abordent la praticabilité de ces mesures en milieu clinique.
Record ID 327
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Fabry_Olsen_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Nontraditional Auditory Assessment: Beyond the Audiogram

 
Auteur(s) David A Fabry
Wayne O Olsen
Volume 17
Nombre 4
Année 1993
Page(s) 58-64
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés hearing
aid
loss
evaluation
Abrégé Hearing aid fitting continues to be based primarily on audiometric pure tone thresholds. Although the underlying goal of many prescriptive formulas is improved speech recognition, actual evaluation with suprathreshold stimuli (such as speech) is rare. Furthermore, assessment of benefit from hearing aids in real world environments is often based on nonstandardized anecdotal evidence. The objective of this manuscript is to consider several procedures that may be used to assess hearing aid candidacy and to evaluate benefit from amplification. These measures include: (1) efficient, reliable speech recognition tests; (2) masking pattern data; (3) aided and unaided loudness discomfort measures; (4) self-assessment scales of hearing aid performance; and (5) user selected frequency responses. The feasibility of using each of these measures in clinical practice will be discussed.



L'ajustement des prothèses auditives se base principalement sur les seuils auditifs. Même si l'objectif d'un bon nombre de formules prescriptives est d'améliorer l'intelligibilité de la parole, l'évaluation pour les stimuli supra-liminaires (comme la parole) est rare. De plus, l'évaluation des avantages des prothèses auditives dans des contextes réalistes est souvent fondée sur des preuves non scientifiques et non standardisées. Les auteurs examinent plusieurs protocoles pour évaluer la candidature et les bénéfices à l'amplification. Ces mesures comprennent notamment les suivantes : (1) examens vocaux efficaces et fiables pour l'intelligibilité de la parole; (2) données sur l'assourdissement: (3) mesures d'inconfort causé par l'intensité sonore, avec et sans amplification; (4) échelles d'auto-évaluation du rendement des prothèses auditives; (5) réponses fréquentielles préférées par l'utilisateur. Les auteurs abordent la praticabilité de ces mesures en milieu clinique.
ID 327
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Fabry_Olsen_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.