Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Hard-of-Hearing Residents in a Home for the Aged

 
Author(s) M. Kathleen Pichora-Fuller, PhD
Laura Robertson, MA
Volume 18
Number 4
Year 1994
Page(s) 278-288
Language English
Category
Keywords disability
hearing
elderly
Abstract Subjective and objective measures of the communication function of 30 hard-of-hearing residents at a home for the aged were collected four times over a two-year period. These measures tapped scope of participation in activities at the home and quality of communication during activities. In a pilot study, groups of residents and staff identified about 30 common situations at the home in which they felt it was important to hear. The evaluation of communication function was keyed to these situations. Overall, fewer participated in "optional" activities (such as attending meetings) but those who did reported little handicap in these situations. In contrast, many more participated in "obligatory" activities (such as dining and chapel) and a much wider range of handicap was reported in these situations.


Des mesures subjectives et objectives de la fonction communicative de 30 personnes malentendantes ont été faites. Tous étaient résidents d'un foyer d'accueil pour personnes agées. Les mesures, faites à quatre occasions et étalées sur deux and, ont estimé le degré de participation des personnes malentendantes aux activités du foyer et la qualité de leur communication durant ces activités. Au cours d'une étude-pilots, des groupes de résidents et de membres du personnel ont dressé une liste des 30 activités pour lesquelles il est le plus important d'entendre. L'évaluation des résidents portait sur ces 30 activités. D'un côté, moins de participants ont pris part aux activités facultatives (par ex. Présence aux réunions), mais ceux qui y prirent part n'ont pas éprouvé de difficultés dans ces situations. De l'autre côté, un plus grand nombre de participants ont participé aux activités nécessaires (par ex. repas, services religieux), mais ils ont éprouvé un éventail plus grand de handicaps dans ces situations.
Record ID 253
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Pichora-Fuller_Robertson_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Hard-of-Hearing Residents in a Home for the Aged

 
Auteur(s) M. Kathleen Pichora-Fuller, PhD
Laura Robertson, MA
Volume 18
Nombre 4
Année 1994
Page(s) 278-288
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés disability
hearing
elderly
Abrégé Subjective and objective measures of the communication function of 30 hard-of-hearing residents at a home for the aged were collected four times over a two-year period. These measures tapped scope of participation in activities at the home and quality of communication during activities. In a pilot study, groups of residents and staff identified about 30 common situations at the home in which they felt it was important to hear. The evaluation of communication function was keyed to these situations. Overall, fewer participated in "optional" activities (such as attending meetings) but those who did reported little handicap in these situations. In contrast, many more participated in "obligatory" activities (such as dining and chapel) and a much wider range of handicap was reported in these situations.


Des mesures subjectives et objectives de la fonction communicative de 30 personnes malentendantes ont été faites. Tous étaient résidents d'un foyer d'accueil pour personnes agées. Les mesures, faites à quatre occasions et étalées sur deux and, ont estimé le degré de participation des personnes malentendantes aux activités du foyer et la qualité de leur communication durant ces activités. Au cours d'une étude-pilots, des groupes de résidents et de membres du personnel ont dressé une liste des 30 activités pour lesquelles il est le plus important d'entendre. L'évaluation des résidents portait sur ces 30 activités. D'un côté, moins de participants ont pris part aux activités facultatives (par ex. Présence aux réunions), mais ceux qui y prirent part n'ont pas éprouvé de difficultés dans ces situations. De l'autre côté, un plus grand nombre de participants ont participé aux activités nécessaires (par ex. repas, services religieux), mais ils ont éprouvé un éventail plus grand de handicaps dans ces situations.
ID 253
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/1994_JSLPA_Vol_18/No_04_201-288/Pichora-Fuller_Robertson_JSLPA_1994.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.