Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Threshold Estimation in the Preschool Period: The PEST Procedure

 
Author(s) Sandra Trehub, PhD
Bruce A Schneider, PhD
Laurel J Trainor, PhD
Barbara A Morrongiello, PhD
Volume 20
Number 3
Year 1996
Page(s) 173-179
Language English
Category
Keywords auditory
threshold
preschool
children
hearing
child
Abstract Preschool children's thresholds for narrow-band noises centred at 500 and 4000 Hz were estimated on two occasions with an adaptive procedure commonly used with adults (PEST). Averaged individual thresholds for 3-,4-, and 5-year-old children were comparable to groups thresholds obtained previously with the method of constant stimuli. As expected, thresholds were higher for 500-Hz than for 4000-Hz signals. Moreover, the thresholds of 3-year-olds were significantly higher than those of 4-, and 5-year-olds, which did not differ from one another. Only the thresholds of 3-year-olds improved significantly from the first to the second day of testing. The present version of the PEST procedure, which necessitates a single test session of 30 trials or less, generates reasonably accurate threshold estimates for 4- and 5-year-olds, but underestimates the abilities of 3-year-olds.


Les seuils auditifs des enfants d'âge préscolaire pour les bruits à bande étroite de 500 Hz et de 4 000 Hz ont été estimés à deux reprises grâce à une méthode d'adaptation fréquemment utilisée pour l'adulte (PEST). Les seuils auditifs moyens des enfants de trois, de quatre et de cinq ans sont comparables aux seuils moyens obtenus précédemment selon la méthode du stimulus constant. Tel que prévu, les seuils est plus élevés pour les signaux de 500 Hz que pour les signaux de 4 000 Hz. D'autre part, les seuils auditifs sont sensiblement plus élevés chez les enfants de trois ans que chez ceux de quatre et de cinq ans, qui ont des seuils identiques. Toutefois les seuils des enfants de trois ans s'améliorent de façon appréciable entre la première et la deuxième journée de l'épreuve. La version actuelle de la méthode PEST, qui exige une seule séance d'un maximum de 30 essais, débouche sur des estimations raisonnablement précises du seuil auditif des enfants de quatre ou de cinq ans, mais sous-estime les aptitudes des enfants de trois ans.
Record ID 175
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1996_JSLPA_Vol_20/No_03_169-217/Trehub_Schneider_Trainor_JSLPA_1996.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Threshold Estimation in the Preschool Period: The PEST Procedure

 
Auteur(s) Sandra Trehub, PhD
Bruce A Schneider, PhD
Laurel J Trainor, PhD
Barbara A Morrongiello, PhD
Volume 20
Nombre 3
Année 1996
Page(s) 173-179
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés auditory
threshold
preschool
children
hearing
child
Abrégé Preschool children's thresholds for narrow-band noises centred at 500 and 4000 Hz were estimated on two occasions with an adaptive procedure commonly used with adults (PEST). Averaged individual thresholds for 3-,4-, and 5-year-old children were comparable to groups thresholds obtained previously with the method of constant stimuli. As expected, thresholds were higher for 500-Hz than for 4000-Hz signals. Moreover, the thresholds of 3-year-olds were significantly higher than those of 4-, and 5-year-olds, which did not differ from one another. Only the thresholds of 3-year-olds improved significantly from the first to the second day of testing. The present version of the PEST procedure, which necessitates a single test session of 30 trials or less, generates reasonably accurate threshold estimates for 4- and 5-year-olds, but underestimates the abilities of 3-year-olds.


Les seuils auditifs des enfants d'âge préscolaire pour les bruits à bande étroite de 500 Hz et de 4 000 Hz ont été estimés à deux reprises grâce à une méthode d'adaptation fréquemment utilisée pour l'adulte (PEST). Les seuils auditifs moyens des enfants de trois, de quatre et de cinq ans sont comparables aux seuils moyens obtenus précédemment selon la méthode du stimulus constant. Tel que prévu, les seuils est plus élevés pour les signaux de 500 Hz que pour les signaux de 4 000 Hz. D'autre part, les seuils auditifs sont sensiblement plus élevés chez les enfants de trois ans que chez ceux de quatre et de cinq ans, qui ont des seuils identiques. Toutefois les seuils des enfants de trois ans s'améliorent de façon appréciable entre la première et la deuxième journée de l'épreuve. La version actuelle de la méthode PEST, qui exige une seule séance d'un maximum de 30 essais, débouche sur des estimations raisonnablement précises du seuil auditif des enfants de quatre ou de cinq ans, mais sous-estime les aptitudes des enfants de trois ans.
ID 175
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/1996_JSLPA_Vol_20/No_03_169-217/Trehub_Schneider_Trainor_JSLPA_1996.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.