Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Speech Audiometry in French-speaking Quebec

 
Author(s) Michel Picard, PhD
Volume 21
Number 4
Year 1997
Page(s) 301-312
Language English
Category
Keywords speech
audiometry
word
recognition
perception
Abstract A critical review of speech recognition tests currently used in Quebec with child and adult speakers of French is provided. Special attention is paid to tests used to determine speech recognition threshold (SRT) and their correspondence with pure-tone thresholds. The use and interpretation of SRT shifts in noise to identify possible sites-of-lesion are also reviewed as an alternative to traditional tests of percent word recognition score in quiet. Finally, the clinical utility of other testing procedures used in Quebec for French speakers such as the Speech Perception in Noise test for children is discussed.


Examen critique des épreuves de reconnaissance de la parole en usage au Québec chez les jeunes et adultes francophones. On porte une attention particulière aux épreuves utilisées pour établir le seuil de reconnaissance de la parole (SRP) ainsi que sa correspondance avec les seuils pour les sons purs. On étudie également l'utilisation et l'interprétation des variations de SRP obtenues dans le bruit pour déterminer les sites de lésion éventuels. Cette approche est suggérée en remplacement des épreuves classiques de reconnaissance maximale de mots sans bruit. Enfin, on étudie l'utilité clinique d'autres méthodes d'évaluation employées au Québec auprès des francophones, comme l'épreuve de perception de la parole avec bruit.
Record ID 133
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1997_JSLPA_Vol_21/No_04_229-312/Picard_JSLPA_1997.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Speech Audiometry in French-speaking Quebec

 
Auteur(s) Michel Picard, PhD
Volume 21
Nombre 4
Année 1997
Page(s) 301-312
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés speech
audiometry
word
recognition
perception
Abrégé A critical review of speech recognition tests currently used in Quebec with child and adult speakers of French is provided. Special attention is paid to tests used to determine speech recognition threshold (SRT) and their correspondence with pure-tone thresholds. The use and interpretation of SRT shifts in noise to identify possible sites-of-lesion are also reviewed as an alternative to traditional tests of percent word recognition score in quiet. Finally, the clinical utility of other testing procedures used in Quebec for French speakers such as the Speech Perception in Noise test for children is discussed.


Examen critique des épreuves de reconnaissance de la parole en usage au Québec chez les jeunes et adultes francophones. On porte une attention particulière aux épreuves utilisées pour établir le seuil de reconnaissance de la parole (SRP) ainsi que sa correspondance avec les seuils pour les sons purs. On étudie également l'utilisation et l'interprétation des variations de SRP obtenues dans le bruit pour déterminer les sites de lésion éventuels. Cette approche est suggérée en remplacement des épreuves classiques de reconnaissance maximale de mots sans bruit. Enfin, on étudie l'utilité clinique d'autres méthodes d'évaluation employées au Québec auprès des francophones, comme l'épreuve de perception de la parole avec bruit.
ID 133
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1997_JSLPA_Vol_21/No_04_229-312/Picard_JSLPA_1997.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.