Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Effects of Tympanic Membrane Intubation on Middle Ear Resonant Frequency in Children

 
Author(s) Andy J. Baboolal
Walter B Green
Kevin Clarke
Volume 22
Number 1
Year 1998
Page(s) 10-14
Language English
Category
Keywords tympanic
membrane
intubation
multifrequency
Abstract The long term effects of otitis media with effusion (OME) and tympanic membrane intubation on middle ear function were investigated using multifrequency tympanometry. Children, aged 4;4 (years;months) to 13;1, with a history of OME and intubation comprised the experimental (19 ears) group. Normal-hearing children, aged 6;0 to 11;11, with a reported negative history of otitis media and intubation served as the control group (26 ears). Middle ear resonant frequency for both groups of children was assessed with multifrequency tympanometry. There was no significant difference in middle ear resonant frequency values between the two groups of children. In addition, the resonant frequency values of the experimental group exhibited substantial overlap with previously published normative data. These findings support the conclusions that the resonant frequency measure is relatively immune to nonpathologic tympanic membrane and middle ear alterations in children with a history of OME and intubation as these children do not present with abnormal resonant frequency measures.


Les effets à long terme de l'itite moyenne suppurée (OMS) et de l'intubation de la membrane tympanique sur la fonction de l'oreille moyenne ont été étudiés au moyen de la tympanométrie multifréquence. Des enfants âgés de 4;4 (ans;mois) à 13;1, avec antécédents d'OMS et d'intubation, ont composé le groupe expérimental (19 oreilles). Des enfants à audition normale, âgés de 6;0 à 11;11, sans antécédents d'otite moyenne ou d'intubation, ont servi de groupe témoin (26 oreilles). Le fréquence de résonance de l'oreille moyenne des deux groupes d'enfants a été étudiée par tympanométrie multifréquence. On n'a relevé aucune différence significative pour ce qui est des valeurs de fréquence de résonance de l'oreille moyenne chez les deux groupes d'enfants. De plus, les valeurs de fréquence de résonance du groupe expérimental ont fait état d'un important recouvrement par rapport aux données normatives publiées antérieurement. Ces conclusions confirment donc que la mesure de la fréquence de résonance est relativement peu influencée par les altérations non pathologiques de la membrane tympanique et de l'oreille moyenne chez les enfants avec antécédents d'OMS et d'intubation car ces enfants de présentent aucune mesure anormale de fréquence de résonance.
Record ID 122
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1998_JSLPA_Vol_22/No_01_1-56/Baboolal_Green_Clarke_JSLPA_1998.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Effects of Tympanic Membrane Intubation on Middle Ear Resonant Frequency in Children

 
Auteur(s) Andy J. Baboolal
Walter B Green
Kevin Clarke
Volume 22
Nombre 1
Année 1998
Page(s) 10-14
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés tympanic
membrane
intubation
multifrequency
Abrégé The long term effects of otitis media with effusion (OME) and tympanic membrane intubation on middle ear function were investigated using multifrequency tympanometry. Children, aged 4;4 (years;months) to 13;1, with a history of OME and intubation comprised the experimental (19 ears) group. Normal-hearing children, aged 6;0 to 11;11, with a reported negative history of otitis media and intubation served as the control group (26 ears). Middle ear resonant frequency for both groups of children was assessed with multifrequency tympanometry. There was no significant difference in middle ear resonant frequency values between the two groups of children. In addition, the resonant frequency values of the experimental group exhibited substantial overlap with previously published normative data. These findings support the conclusions that the resonant frequency measure is relatively immune to nonpathologic tympanic membrane and middle ear alterations in children with a history of OME and intubation as these children do not present with abnormal resonant frequency measures.


Les effets à long terme de l'itite moyenne suppurée (OMS) et de l'intubation de la membrane tympanique sur la fonction de l'oreille moyenne ont été étudiés au moyen de la tympanométrie multifréquence. Des enfants âgés de 4;4 (ans;mois) à 13;1, avec antécédents d'OMS et d'intubation, ont composé le groupe expérimental (19 oreilles). Des enfants à audition normale, âgés de 6;0 à 11;11, sans antécédents d'otite moyenne ou d'intubation, ont servi de groupe témoin (26 oreilles). Le fréquence de résonance de l'oreille moyenne des deux groupes d'enfants a été étudiée par tympanométrie multifréquence. On n'a relevé aucune différence significative pour ce qui est des valeurs de fréquence de résonance de l'oreille moyenne chez les deux groupes d'enfants. De plus, les valeurs de fréquence de résonance du groupe expérimental ont fait état d'un important recouvrement par rapport aux données normatives publiées antérieurement. Ces conclusions confirment donc que la mesure de la fréquence de résonance est relativement peu influencée par les altérations non pathologiques de la membrane tympanique et de l'oreille moyenne chez les enfants avec antécédents d'OMS et d'intubation car ces enfants de présentent aucune mesure anormale de fréquence de résonance.
ID 122
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1998_JSLPA_Vol_22/No_01_1-56/Baboolal_Green_Clarke_JSLPA_1998.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.