Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

F-FOCUS, the translation of a measurement tool to evaluate communication progress in pre-school children

 
Author(s) Valérie Pominville, MA
Josée Turcotte, PhD
Bruce Oddson, PhD
Peter Rosenbaum, MD
Nancy Thomas-Stonell, DSP, O(C)
Volume 39
Number 4
Year 2015
Page(s) 362-75
Language French
Category
Keywords mesure
progrès
orthophonie
trouble
langage
traduction
focus
enfant
préscolaire
facilité
utilisation
intervention
francophone
Abstract This study evaluates how easy the French translation of the tool for the measurement of progress in speech therapy, Focus on Outcomes of Communication Under Six (FOCUS), under the name of FOCUS-F, is to understand and use with a French-speaking population before it is rolled out to the market. FOCUS measures the changes that occurred in pre-school children in their daily communication following speech-language therapy. The participants (n=82) responded to FOCUS-F as well as to a feedback questionnaire relying on the language skills of their own children or of children they knew very well. They concluded that the FOCUS-F items were easy to understand. The use of FOCUS-F without additional instructions therefore appears feasible since almost all participants considered the instructions to be clear and the format appropriate.

La présente étude évalue la facilité de compréhension et d’utilisation de la traduction française de la mesure de progrès en thérapie orthophonique avec l’outil Focus on Outcomes of Communication Under Six (FOCUS), nommée FOCUS-F, auprès d’une population francophone avant sa mise en marché. Le FOCUS mesure, chez les enfants d’âge préscolaire, les changements survenus dans leur communication quotidienne à la suite d’une thérapie orthophonique. Les participants (n=82) ont répondu au FOCUS-F ainsi qu’à un questionnaire de rétroaction en se fiant sur les habiletés langagières de leur propre enfant ou d’un enfant qu’ils connaissaient très bien. Ils ont jugé que les items du FOCUS-F étaient faciles à comprendre. L’utilisation du FOCUS-F sans instruction supplémentaire semble donc envisageable puisque la quasi-totalité des répondants considère les instructions claires et le format approprié.
Record ID 1187
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2015_CJSLPA_Vol_39/No_04/Paper_4_CJSLPA_Winter_2015_Vol_39_No_4_Pominville-et-al.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Le FOCUS-F, la traduction d’une mesure évaluant les progrès en communication chez les enfants d’âge préscolaire

 
Auteur(s) Valérie Pominville, MA
Josée Turcotte, PhD
Bruce Oddson, PhD
Peter Rosenbaum, MD
Nancy Thomas-Stonell, DSP, O(C)
Volume 39
Nombre 4
Année 2015
Page(s) 362-75
Langue Français
Catégorie
Mots-clés mesure
progrès
orthophonie
trouble
langage
traduction
focus
enfant
préscolaire
facilité
utilisation
intervention
francophone
Abrégé This study evaluates how easy the French translation of the tool for the measurement of progress in speech therapy, Focus on Outcomes of Communication Under Six (FOCUS), under the name of FOCUS-F, is to understand and use with a French-speaking population before it is rolled out to the market. FOCUS measures the changes that occurred in pre-school children in their daily communication following speech-language therapy. The participants (n=82) responded to FOCUS-F as well as to a feedback questionnaire relying on the language skills of their own children or of children they knew very well. They concluded that the FOCUS-F items were easy to understand. The use of FOCUS-F without additional instructions therefore appears feasible since almost all participants considered the instructions to be clear and the format appropriate.

La présente étude évalue la facilité de compréhension et d’utilisation de la traduction française de la mesure de progrès en thérapie orthophonique avec l’outil Focus on Outcomes of Communication Under Six (FOCUS), nommée FOCUS-F, auprès d’une population francophone avant sa mise en marché. Le FOCUS mesure, chez les enfants d’âge préscolaire, les changements survenus dans leur communication quotidienne à la suite d’une thérapie orthophonique. Les participants (n=82) ont répondu au FOCUS-F ainsi qu’à un questionnaire de rétroaction en se fiant sur les habiletés langagières de leur propre enfant ou d’un enfant qu’ils connaissaient très bien. Ils ont jugé que les items du FOCUS-F étaient faciles à comprendre. L’utilisation du FOCUS-F sans instruction supplémentaire semble donc envisageable puisque la quasi-totalité des répondants considère les instructions claires et le format approprié.
ID 1187
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2015_CJSLPA_Vol_39/No_04/Paper_4_CJSLPA_Winter_2015_Vol_39_No_4_Pominville-et-al.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.