Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Working With Aboriginal Children and Families: Cultural Responsiveness and Beyond / Le travail avec les enfants et les familles autochtones : l’adaptation à la culture et au-delà

 
Author(s) Diane Pesco, Ph.D, S-LP©
Volume 38
Number 2
Year 2014
Page(s) 144-151
Language English
Category
Keywords cultural
competence
aboriginal
education
first
peoples
Canada
social
justice
Abstract Cultural responsiveness is often evoked as an ideal to which service providers for Aboriginal peoples in Canada should aspire. In this paper, the author reviews concepts and approaches related to cultural responsiveness in the literature in the field of education, pointing out how these are parallel with or might further inform practices in communication sciences and disorders (CSD). The drawbacks of approaches focused on cultural responsiveness are also identified, and a complementary or alternate focus on social and economic justice for Aboriginal peoples is discussed and advised.

L’adaptation culturelle est souvent évoquée comme un idéal auquel devraient aspirer les pourvoyeurs de services pour les peuples autochtones du Canada. Dans cette communication l’auteure passe en revue des concepts et des approches, dans la littérature, qui ont trait à l’adaptation culturelle dans le domaine de l’éducation en faisant ressortir à quel point ceux-ci sont parallèles aux pratiques ayant cours dans les sciences et les troubles de la communication (CSD – communication sciences and disorders) ou pourraient davantage donner forme à ces pratiques. Les inconvénients des approches orientées sur l’adaptation culturelle sont également identifiés, et une orientation complémentaire ou alternative sur la justice sociale et économique envers les peuples autochtones est discutée et conseillée.
Record ID 1147
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2014_CJSLPA_Vol_38/No_02/CJSLPA_Summer_2014_Vol_38_No_2_Paper_1_Pesco.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Working With Aboriginal Children and Families: Cultural Responsiveness and Beyond / Le travail avec les enfants et les familles autochtones : l’adaptation à la culture et au-delà

 
Auteur(s) Diane Pesco, Ph.D, S-LP©
Volume 38
Nombre 2
Année 2014
Page(s) 144-151
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés cultural
competence
aboriginal
education
first
peoples
Canada
social
justice
Abrégé Cultural responsiveness is often evoked as an ideal to which service providers for Aboriginal peoples in Canada should aspire. In this paper, the author reviews concepts and approaches related to cultural responsiveness in the literature in the field of education, pointing out how these are parallel with or might further inform practices in communication sciences and disorders (CSD). The drawbacks of approaches focused on cultural responsiveness are also identified, and a complementary or alternate focus on social and economic justice for Aboriginal peoples is discussed and advised.

L’adaptation culturelle est souvent évoquée comme un idéal auquel devraient aspirer les pourvoyeurs de services pour les peuples autochtones du Canada. Dans cette communication l’auteure passe en revue des concepts et des approches, dans la littérature, qui ont trait à l’adaptation culturelle dans le domaine de l’éducation en faisant ressortir à quel point ceux-ci sont parallèles aux pratiques ayant cours dans les sciences et les troubles de la communication (CSD – communication sciences and disorders) ou pourraient davantage donner forme à ces pratiques. Les inconvénients des approches orientées sur l’adaptation culturelle sont également identifiés, et une orientation complémentaire ou alternative sur la justice sociale et économique envers les peuples autochtones est discutée et conseillée.
ID 1147
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2014_CJSLPA_Vol_38/No_02/CJSLPA_Summer_2014_Vol_38_No_2_Paper_1_Pesco.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.