Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Motivational Interviewing: Practical Strategies for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

 
Author(s) Lu-Anne McFarlane
Volume 36
Number 1
Year 2012
Page(s) 8-17
Language English
Category
Keywords
Abstract Effective counseling and communication skills are essential in the disciplines of speech-language pathology and audiology, yet many clinicians receive limited exposure to counseling skills in their training programs or professional development opportunities. There have been advances in evidence-based counseling practices in rehabilitation settings. This tutorial will discuss Motivational Interviewing (MI), with specific focus on the disciplines of speech-language pathology and audiology. It will discuss the background and evidence supporting MI use, and provide guidance for basic techniques that can be implemented immediately into clinical practice. Resources for continued learning are also included.

Des habiletés efficaces en counseling et en communication sont essentielles pour les disciplines de l’orthophonie et de l’audiologie, mais de nombreux cliniciens ont une exposition limitée aux techniques de counseling lors de leurs programmes de formation ou de leurs activités de perfectionnement professionnel. Des progrès ont été réalisés en ce qui a trait aux pratiques de counseling fondées sur les données probantes en réadaptation. Ce tutoriel présentera une technique d’entrevue motivationnelle (Motivational Interviewing (MI)) et sera particulièrement axé sur les disciplines de l’orthophonie et de l’audiologie. Nous examinerons les antécédents de cette technique et les données probantes en appuyant l’utilisation, et nous présenterons des techniques de base pouvant être mises en oeuvre immédiatement dans la pratique clinique. Nous fournirons aussi des ressources pour poursuivre l’apprentissage.
Record ID 1090
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2012_CJSLPA_Vol_36/No_01_1-87/McFarlane_CJSLPA_2012.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Motivational Interviewing: Practical Strategies for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

 
Auteur(s) Lu-Anne McFarlane
Volume 36
Nombre 1
Année 2012
Page(s) 8-17
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés
Abrégé Effective counseling and communication skills are essential in the disciplines of speech-language pathology and audiology, yet many clinicians receive limited exposure to counseling skills in their training programs or professional development opportunities. There have been advances in evidence-based counseling practices in rehabilitation settings. This tutorial will discuss Motivational Interviewing (MI), with specific focus on the disciplines of speech-language pathology and audiology. It will discuss the background and evidence supporting MI use, and provide guidance for basic techniques that can be implemented immediately into clinical practice. Resources for continued learning are also included.

Des habiletés efficaces en counseling et en communication sont essentielles pour les disciplines de l’orthophonie et de l’audiologie, mais de nombreux cliniciens ont une exposition limitée aux techniques de counseling lors de leurs programmes de formation ou de leurs activités de perfectionnement professionnel. Des progrès ont été réalisés en ce qui a trait aux pratiques de counseling fondées sur les données probantes en réadaptation. Ce tutoriel présentera une technique d’entrevue motivationnelle (Motivational Interviewing (MI)) et sera particulièrement axé sur les disciplines de l’orthophonie et de l’audiologie. Nous examinerons les antécédents de cette technique et les données probantes en appuyant l’utilisation, et nous présenterons des techniques de base pouvant être mises en oeuvre immédiatement dans la pratique clinique. Nous fournirons aussi des ressources pour poursuivre l’apprentissage.
ID 1090
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2012_CJSLPA_Vol_36/No_01_1-87/McFarlane_CJSLPA_2012.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.