Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Standard English Difficulties and Helpful Intervention Strategies for Aboriginal Students

 
Author(s) R. Colleen Bovaird Wawrykow
Volume 35
Number 2
Year 2011
Page(s) 198-205
Language English
Category
Keywords NON-STANDARD ENGLISH

DIFFERENCES FIRST
NATIONS INDIGENOUS
PEOPLES ABORIGINAL
PEOPLES SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY
Abstract This paper provides a reflective account of difficulties and differences that may cause Aboriginal Canadian students to struggle with Standard English. Special considerations for Aboriginal students and strategies for intervention are described. These clinical reflections are based on twenty years of cultural and working experience as an Aboriginal Speech-Language Pathologist in Central Vancouver Island, B.C., as well as personal observations and interactions with Aboriginal people from across Canada.

Le présent article rapporte le fruit de réflexions sur les difficultés et les différences qui pourraient expliquer le fait que les enfants autochtones du Canada ont de la difficulté à maîtriser l’anglais courant. Il décrit les éléments particuliers à prendre en considération pour les élèves autochtones et des stratégies d’intervention. Ces réflexions cliniques sont fondées sur vingt ans d’expérience culturelle et professionnelle à titre d’orthophoniste autochtone au centre de l’île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique ainsi que sur des observations personnelles et des interactions avec des Autochtones de partout au Canada.
Record ID 1072
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_02_103-213/Wawrykow_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Standard English Difficulties and Helpful Intervention Strategies for Aboriginal Students

 
Auteur(s) R. Colleen Bovaird Wawrykow
Volume 35
Nombre 2
Année 2011
Page(s) 198-205
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés NON-STANDARD ENGLISH

DIFFERENCES FIRST
NATIONS INDIGENOUS
PEOPLES ABORIGINAL
PEOPLES SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY
Abrégé This paper provides a reflective account of difficulties and differences that may cause Aboriginal Canadian students to struggle with Standard English. Special considerations for Aboriginal students and strategies for intervention are described. These clinical reflections are based on twenty years of cultural and working experience as an Aboriginal Speech-Language Pathologist in Central Vancouver Island, B.C., as well as personal observations and interactions with Aboriginal people from across Canada.

Le présent article rapporte le fruit de réflexions sur les difficultés et les différences qui pourraient expliquer le fait que les enfants autochtones du Canada ont de la difficulté à maîtriser l’anglais courant. Il décrit les éléments particuliers à prendre en considération pour les élèves autochtones et des stratégies d’intervention. Ces réflexions cliniques sont fondées sur vingt ans d’expérience culturelle et professionnelle à titre d’orthophoniste autochtone au centre de l’île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique ainsi que sur des observations personnelles et des interactions avec des Autochtones de partout au Canada.
ID 1072
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_02_103-213/Wawrykow_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.