Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Beyond Vygotsky: What Soviet Activity Theory Offers Naturalistic Language Intervention

 
Author(s) Teresa A. Ukrainetz, PhD
Volume 22
Number 3
Year 1998
Page(s) 164-175
Language English
Category
Keywords language
intervention
social
interactionist
Vygotsky
Abstract Naturalistic, functional language intervention or activity-based intervention is increasingly the choice of speech-language pathologists. Working on language targets in the complex contexts of daily life activities presents challenges in supporting language learning. Traditional methods of task analysis, hierarchical task structuring, and writing skills-based objectives are not conceptually consistent or very helpful for activity-based intervention. Theory of activity, developed by Soviet psychologists following a Vygotskian framework, provides a new perspective on the notion of competence within activities. Together with its conceptual cousin, scaffolding, theory of activity provides ideas and methods for analyzing and supporting language learning in context.



Les orthophonistes choisissent de plus en plus l’intervention naturaliste ou fonctionnelle, ou l’intervention par activités. Les cibles langagières, dans les contextes complexes des activités de la vie quotidienne, présentent des défis pour le soutien à l’apprentissage du langage. Les méthodes classiques comme l’analyse des tâches, la structuration hiérarchique des tâches et les objectifs d’écriture basés sur l’aptitude, ne sont pas cohérentes sur le plan conceptuel et ne sont pas très utile en intervention à base d’activité. La théorie de l’activité, élaborée par des psychologues soviétiques à partir d’un cadre vygotskyen, donne une nouvelle perspective à la notion de compétence en activité. Comme pour son cousin conceptuel, l’échafaudage, la théorie de l’activité offre des idées et des méthodes pour l’analyse et le soutien de l’apprentissage du langage selon le contexte.
Record ID 103
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1998_JSLPA_Vol_22/No_03_122-205/Ukrainetz_HumComm_1998.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Beyond Vygotsky: What Soviet Activity Theory Offers Naturalistic Language Intervention

 
Auteur(s) Teresa A. Ukrainetz, PhD
Volume 22
Nombre 3
Année 1998
Page(s) 164-175
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés language
intervention
social
interactionist
Vygotsky
Abrégé Naturalistic, functional language intervention or activity-based intervention is increasingly the choice of speech-language pathologists. Working on language targets in the complex contexts of daily life activities presents challenges in supporting language learning. Traditional methods of task analysis, hierarchical task structuring, and writing skills-based objectives are not conceptually consistent or very helpful for activity-based intervention. Theory of activity, developed by Soviet psychologists following a Vygotskian framework, provides a new perspective on the notion of competence within activities. Together with its conceptual cousin, scaffolding, theory of activity provides ideas and methods for analyzing and supporting language learning in context.



Les orthophonistes choisissent de plus en plus l’intervention naturaliste ou fonctionnelle, ou l’intervention par activités. Les cibles langagières, dans les contextes complexes des activités de la vie quotidienne, présentent des défis pour le soutien à l’apprentissage du langage. Les méthodes classiques comme l’analyse des tâches, la structuration hiérarchique des tâches et les objectifs d’écriture basés sur l’aptitude, ne sont pas cohérentes sur le plan conceptuel et ne sont pas très utile en intervention à base d’activité. La théorie de l’activité, élaborée par des psychologues soviétiques à partir d’un cadre vygotskyen, donne une nouvelle perspective à la notion de compétence en activité. Comme pour son cousin conceptuel, l’échafaudage, la théorie de l’activité offre des idées et des méthodes pour l’analyse et le soutien de l’apprentissage du langage selon le contexte.
ID 103
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1998_JSLPA_Vol_22/No_03_122-205/Ukrainetz_HumComm_1998.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.