Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Knowledge of the Roles of Speech-Language Pathologists by Students in Other Health Care Programs

 
Author(s) Amanda Sullivan
Patricia L. Cleave
Volume 27
Number 2
Year 2003
Page(s) 98-107
Language English
Category
Keywords interprofessional-education
professional-training
team-work
Abstract This study reports the findings from a survey of 268 students in their first and final years of the medicine, nursing, physiotherapy (PT), and occupational therapy (OT) programs at Dalhousie University. The focus of the survey addressed their knowledge of the roles of the speech-language pathologist (SLP). The final year nursing, PT, and OT students were more knowledgeable than the first year students in these programs. There was no difference between first and final year medical students. Significant differences were found among the programs, with OT and PT students showing more knowledge than students in either medicine or nursing. Overall, students were more knowledgeable about the role of an SLP with regard to speech difficulties than difficulties with language, especially cognitive or social language. The potential influences of interprofessional learning and varying clinical and personal experiences are discussed.



Cette étude donne un compte rendu des résultats d’un sondage de 268 étudiants de première et de dernière années des programmes de médecine, de sciences infirmières, de physiothérapie (PT) et d’ergothérapie (ÉT) à la Dalhousie University. Le but du sondage était d’évaluer leur compréhension des rôles de l’orthophoniste. Les étudiants de dernière année des programmes de sciences infirmières, de PT et d’ÉT étaient mieux renseignés que les étudiants de première année de ces programmes. Cependant, aucune différence n’a été relevée entre les étudiants de médecine de première et de dernière année. Par contre, des différences significatives d’un programme à l’autre ont été relevées, les étudiants d’ÉT et de PT démontrant une plus grande connaissance que les étudiants de médecine ou de sciences infirmières. Dans l’ensemble, les étudiants étaient mieux informés quant au rôle de l’orthophoniste à l’égard des troubles de la parole que des troubles de langage, notamment cognitifs ou sociaux. Les influences éventuelles de l’apprentissage interprofessionnel et des diverses expériences cliniques et personnelles sont étudiées.
Record ID 824
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2003_JSLPA_Vol_27/No_02_93-140/Sullivan_Cleave_JSLPA_2003.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Knowledge of the Roles of Speech-Language Pathologists by Students in Other Health Care Programs

 
Auteur(s) Amanda Sullivan
Patricia L. Cleave
Volume 27
Nombre 2
Année 2003
Page(s) 98-107
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés interprofessional-education
professional-training
team-work
Abrégé This study reports the findings from a survey of 268 students in their first and final years of the medicine, nursing, physiotherapy (PT), and occupational therapy (OT) programs at Dalhousie University. The focus of the survey addressed their knowledge of the roles of the speech-language pathologist (SLP). The final year nursing, PT, and OT students were more knowledgeable than the first year students in these programs. There was no difference between first and final year medical students. Significant differences were found among the programs, with OT and PT students showing more knowledge than students in either medicine or nursing. Overall, students were more knowledgeable about the role of an SLP with regard to speech difficulties than difficulties with language, especially cognitive or social language. The potential influences of interprofessional learning and varying clinical and personal experiences are discussed.



Cette étude donne un compte rendu des résultats d’un sondage de 268 étudiants de première et de dernière années des programmes de médecine, de sciences infirmières, de physiothérapie (PT) et d’ergothérapie (ÉT) à la Dalhousie University. Le but du sondage était d’évaluer leur compréhension des rôles de l’orthophoniste. Les étudiants de dernière année des programmes de sciences infirmières, de PT et d’ÉT étaient mieux renseignés que les étudiants de première année de ces programmes. Cependant, aucune différence n’a été relevée entre les étudiants de médecine de première et de dernière année. Par contre, des différences significatives d’un programme à l’autre ont été relevées, les étudiants d’ÉT et de PT démontrant une plus grande connaissance que les étudiants de médecine ou de sciences infirmières. Dans l’ensemble, les étudiants étaient mieux informés quant au rôle de l’orthophoniste à l’égard des troubles de la parole que des troubles de langage, notamment cognitifs ou sociaux. Les influences éventuelles de l’apprentissage interprofessionnel et des diverses expériences cliniques et personnelles sont étudiées.
ID 824
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2003_JSLPA_Vol_27/No_02_93-140/Sullivan_Cleave_JSLPA_2003.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.