Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Design Criteria for New Technologies

 
Author(s) A. Maynard Engebretson
Volume 17
Number 4
Year 1993
Page(s) 74-86
Language English
Category
Keywords hearing
aid
digital
processing
low
power
VLSI
Abstract In this paper we attempt to identify areas of current hearing aid design that limit performance and that can be improved by applying new technology. First, we will examine hearing aid components, such as microphones, receivers, and batteries. Next, we will address the limits of miniaturization of traditional CMOS technology and discuss the relative merits and problems of analog and digital implementation. Then, we will examine the problems of digital encoding. We will review a number of potentially useful signal processing algorithms related to filtering, feedback stabilization, and noise reduction. Finally, we will compare an analog and digital implementation of a typical hearing aid circuit.


Dans le présent document, nous tentons d'identifier les paramètres d'un modèle conceptuel qui limitent le rendement des aides auditives
et qui peuvent être améliorés en utilisant une technologie nouvelle. Nous examinons tout d'abord les composantes de la prothèse auditive, comme les microphones, les récepteurs et les piles. Puis, nous parlons des limites de la miniaturisation de la technologie traditionnelle CMOS avant de discuter des avantages et des problèmes reliés aux systèmes analogiques et digitaux. Nous examinons les problèmes de l'encodage digital. Nous nous penchons sur un certain nombre d'algorithmes de traitement de signal pour les aides auditives qui peuvent être utiles pour la filtration, le coulage acoustique et la réduction du bruit. Enfin, nous comparons le comportement électroacoustique d'une aide auditive révélé à l'expertise analogique et digitale.
Record ID 329
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Engebretson_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Design Criteria for New Technologies

 
Auteur(s) A. Maynard Engebretson
Volume 17
Nombre 4
Année 1993
Page(s) 74-86
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés hearing
aid
digital
processing
low
power
VLSI
Abrégé In this paper we attempt to identify areas of current hearing aid design that limit performance and that can be improved by applying new technology. First, we will examine hearing aid components, such as microphones, receivers, and batteries. Next, we will address the limits of miniaturization of traditional CMOS technology and discuss the relative merits and problems of analog and digital implementation. Then, we will examine the problems of digital encoding. We will review a number of potentially useful signal processing algorithms related to filtering, feedback stabilization, and noise reduction. Finally, we will compare an analog and digital implementation of a typical hearing aid circuit.


Dans le présent document, nous tentons d'identifier les paramètres d'un modèle conceptuel qui limitent le rendement des aides auditives
et qui peuvent être améliorés en utilisant une technologie nouvelle. Nous examinons tout d'abord les composantes de la prothèse auditive, comme les microphones, les récepteurs et les piles. Puis, nous parlons des limites de la miniaturisation de la technologie traditionnelle CMOS avant de discuter des avantages et des problèmes reliés aux systèmes analogiques et digitaux. Nous examinons les problèmes de l'encodage digital. Nous nous penchons sur un certain nombre d'algorithmes de traitement de signal pour les aides auditives qui peuvent être utiles pour la filtration, le coulage acoustique et la réduction du bruit. Enfin, nous comparons le comportement électroacoustique d'une aide auditive révélé à l'expertise analogique et digitale.
ID 329
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/Suppl_01_1-125/Engebretson_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.