Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Impact of Early Onset Otitis Media on Prelinguistic Speech Development

 
Author(s) Susan Rvachew, PhD
Elzbieta B Slawinski, PhD
Megan Williams, MSc
Carol L Green, MSc
Volume 20
Number 4
Year 1996
Page(s) 247-255
Language English
Category
Keywords otitis
media
babble
speech
infant
Abstract Numerous studies have shown that otitis media (OM) during infancy has a negative impact on language development later in life. Few studies have examined the effect of OM on prelinguistic behaviour during infancy. The purpose of this study was to investigate the impact of OM on the development of canonical babble in children who experienced at least one episode during the period of birth through six months of age, in comparison with children who did not experience OM during this period. The results show a consistently lower rate of canonical babble among children with early onset OM, when compared to children with later onset OM, during the period six through 12 months of age.


D'innombrables études ont démontré que l'otite moyenne (OM) chez le nourrisson a une incidence négative sur le développement du langage plus tard au cours de la vie. Peu d'études ont porté sur l'effet de l'OM sur le comportement prélinguistique à l'âge du nourrisson. Cette étude visait à faire enquête sur l'incidence de l'OM sur le développement du babillage canonique chez les enfants ayant eu au moins une episode avant l'âge de six mois, par comparasion avec les enfants qui n'ont pas fait d'OM au cours de cette période. Les résultats témoignent d'un taux constamment moins élevé de babillage canonique chez les enfants atteints d'OM d'origine précoce, par comparaison avec les enfants chez qui l'OM survient plus tard, pendant le période de six à 12 mois.
Record ID 164
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1996_JSLPA_Vol_20/No_04_218-282/Rvachew_Slawinski_Williams_JSLPA_1996.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Impact of Early Onset Otitis Media on Prelinguistic Speech Development

 
Auteur(s) Susan Rvachew, PhD
Elzbieta B Slawinski, PhD
Megan Williams, MSc
Carol L Green, MSc
Volume 20
Nombre 4
Année 1996
Page(s) 247-255
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés otitis
media
babble
speech
infant
Abrégé Numerous studies have shown that otitis media (OM) during infancy has a negative impact on language development later in life. Few studies have examined the effect of OM on prelinguistic behaviour during infancy. The purpose of this study was to investigate the impact of OM on the development of canonical babble in children who experienced at least one episode during the period of birth through six months of age, in comparison with children who did not experience OM during this period. The results show a consistently lower rate of canonical babble among children with early onset OM, when compared to children with later onset OM, during the period six through 12 months of age.


D'innombrables études ont démontré que l'otite moyenne (OM) chez le nourrisson a une incidence négative sur le développement du langage plus tard au cours de la vie. Peu d'études ont porté sur l'effet de l'OM sur le comportement prélinguistique à l'âge du nourrisson. Cette étude visait à faire enquête sur l'incidence de l'OM sur le développement du babillage canonique chez les enfants ayant eu au moins une episode avant l'âge de six mois, par comparasion avec les enfants qui n'ont pas fait d'OM au cours de cette période. Les résultats témoignent d'un taux constamment moins élevé de babillage canonique chez les enfants atteints d'OM d'origine précoce, par comparaison avec les enfants chez qui l'OM survient plus tard, pendant le période de six à 12 mois.
ID 164
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/1996_JSLPA_Vol_20/No_04_218-282/Rvachew_Slawinski_Williams_JSLPA_1996.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.