Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Matching real-ear targets for adult hearing aid fittings: NAL-NL1 and DSL v5.0 prescriptive formulae

 
Author(s) Sandra Baker
Lorienne Jenstad
Volume 41
Number 2
Year 2017
Page(s) 227-235
Language English
Category Research Article
Keywords NAL-NL1
DSL v5.0
hearing
aid
gain
prescriptive
target
real-ear
loss
rehabilitation
Abstract The value of using real-ear measures when fitting hearing aids has been well researched and the information is readily available in the literature. However, a review of recent research showed that there is limited evidence to determine whether real-ear targets for gain and output can be achieved with current technology. Seven experienced clinicians fitted hearing aids to real-ear targets using one of two prescriptive methods: National Acoustic Laboratories, Non-Linear, version 1 (NAL-NL1) and Desired Sensation Level, version 5 (DSL v5.0, adult targets). One hundred ears were assessed for DSL v5.0 and 134 ears were assessed for NAL-NL1 to determine how closely the fittings matched real ear targets. The results indicate that a hearing aid can be matched to target within ±5 dB regardless of the number of gain adjustment handles, the manufacturer, or the style; with the exception of severe/profound hearing loss, particularly in the high frequencies.

L’utilité des mesures in situ pour l’ajustement des appareils auditifs a fait l’objet de plusieurs recherches. L’information à ce sujet est par ailleurs facilement accessible dans la littérature. Néanmoins, une récente recension des écrits a montré qu’il y a peu de données à savoir s’il est possible d’atteindre des cibles in situ pour le gain et le niveau de sortie avec la technologie actuelle. Afin de déterminer à quel point les ajustements correspondaient aux cibles in situ, sept cliniciens ont ajusté 100 appareils auditifs avec la méthode DSL v5.0 Desired Sensation Level, version 5 (DSL v5.0, adult targets) et 134 avec la méthode National Acoustic Laboratories, Non-Linear, version 1 (NAL-NL1). Les résultats indiquent qu’un appareil auditif peut être ajusté à ±5 dB de la cible quel que soit le nombre de bandes réglables, le fabricant ou le style à l’exception des cas de pertes auditives sévères ou profondes, particulièrement pour les pertes en hautes fréquences.
Record ID 1213
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2017_CJSLPA_Vol_41/No_02/CJSLPA_Vol_41_No_2_2017_Baker_Jenstad_227-235.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

La correspondance des cibles in situ pour l’ajustement des appareils auditifs chez les adultes : formules prescriptives NAL-NL1 vs DSL v5.0

 
Auteur(s) Sandra Baker
Lorienne Jenstad
Volume 41
Nombre 2
Année 2017
Page(s) 227-235
Langue Anglais
Catégorie Article de recherche
Mots-clés NAL-NL1
DSL v5.0
hearing
aid
gain
prescriptive
target
real-ear
loss
rehabilitation
Abrégé The value of using real-ear measures when fitting hearing aids has been well researched and the information is readily available in the literature. However, a review of recent research showed that there is limited evidence to determine whether real-ear targets for gain and output can be achieved with current technology. Seven experienced clinicians fitted hearing aids to real-ear targets using one of two prescriptive methods: National Acoustic Laboratories, Non-Linear, version 1 (NAL-NL1) and Desired Sensation Level, version 5 (DSL v5.0, adult targets). One hundred ears were assessed for DSL v5.0 and 134 ears were assessed for NAL-NL1 to determine how closely the fittings matched real ear targets. The results indicate that a hearing aid can be matched to target within ±5 dB regardless of the number of gain adjustment handles, the manufacturer, or the style; with the exception of severe/profound hearing loss, particularly in the high frequencies.

L’utilité des mesures in situ pour l’ajustement des appareils auditifs a fait l’objet de plusieurs recherches. L’information à ce sujet est par ailleurs facilement accessible dans la littérature. Néanmoins, une récente recension des écrits a montré qu’il y a peu de données à savoir s’il est possible d’atteindre des cibles in situ pour le gain et le niveau de sortie avec la technologie actuelle. Afin de déterminer à quel point les ajustements correspondaient aux cibles in situ, sept cliniciens ont ajusté 100 appareils auditifs avec la méthode DSL v5.0 Desired Sensation Level, version 5 (DSL v5.0, adult targets) et 134 avec la méthode National Acoustic Laboratories, Non-Linear, version 1 (NAL-NL1). Les résultats indiquent qu’un appareil auditif peut être ajusté à ±5 dB de la cible quel que soit le nombre de bandes réglables, le fabricant ou le style à l’exception des cas de pertes auditives sévères ou profondes, particulièrement pour les pertes en hautes fréquences.
ID 1213
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2017_CJSLPA_Vol_41/No_02/CJSLPA_Vol_41_No_2_2017_Baker_Jenstad_227-235.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.