Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Development of an Inuktitut and English Language Screening Tool in Nunavut

 
Author(s) Catherine Dench
Patricia L. Cleave
Jane Tagak
Janice Beddard
Volume 35
Number 2
Year 2011
Page(s) 168-177
Language English
Category
Keywords INUKTITUT BILINGUAL LANGUAGE
SCREENING BILINGUAL
ASSESSMENT
Abstract One of the challenges of providing speech and language pathology services to Indigenous communities is the lack of culturally appropriate screening and assessment tools. This paper describes the process used in the development of the Inuktitut and English Language Screening Tool intended for use in the Qikiqtani region of Nunavut, Canada. The project involved collaboration among teachers and the speech-language pathologist from Qikiqtani School Operations, a university faculty member, and several speech-language pathology students. The development of the instrument was informed by the social context and the features of the Indigenous language Inuktitut, and an understanding of ways to evaluate local language screening instruments.

La difficulté d’offrir des services d’orthophonie à des communautés autochtones repose en partie sur le manque d’outils de dépistage et d’évaluation adaptés à la culture. Le présent article décrit l’élaboration de l’Inuktitut and English Language Screening Tool (outil de dépistage de l’évaluation du langage en inuktitut et en anglais) destiné aux Opérations scolaires de la région Qikiqtani du Nunavut, au Canada. Cette initiative a demandé une collaboration entre les enseignants et l’orthophoniste des Opérations scolaires de la région Qikiqtani, un professeur d’université et plusieurs étudiants en orthophonie. L’élaboration de cet outil s’est faite à partir du contexte social et des caractéristiques de l’inuktitut et a aussi tenu compte des façons d’évaluer les outils de dépistage locaux.
Record ID 1069
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_02_103-213/Dench_Cleave_Tagak_Beddard_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Development of an Inuktitut and English Language Screening Tool in Nunavut

 
Auteur(s) Catherine Dench
Patricia L. Cleave
Jane Tagak
Janice Beddard
Volume 35
Nombre 2
Année 2011
Page(s) 168-177
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés INUKTITUT BILINGUAL LANGUAGE
SCREENING BILINGUAL
ASSESSMENT
Abrégé One of the challenges of providing speech and language pathology services to Indigenous communities is the lack of culturally appropriate screening and assessment tools. This paper describes the process used in the development of the Inuktitut and English Language Screening Tool intended for use in the Qikiqtani region of Nunavut, Canada. The project involved collaboration among teachers and the speech-language pathologist from Qikiqtani School Operations, a university faculty member, and several speech-language pathology students. The development of the instrument was informed by the social context and the features of the Indigenous language Inuktitut, and an understanding of ways to evaluate local language screening instruments.

La difficulté d’offrir des services d’orthophonie à des communautés autochtones repose en partie sur le manque d’outils de dépistage et d’évaluation adaptés à la culture. Le présent article décrit l’élaboration de l’Inuktitut and English Language Screening Tool (outil de dépistage de l’évaluation du langage en inuktitut et en anglais) destiné aux Opérations scolaires de la région Qikiqtani du Nunavut, au Canada. Cette initiative a demandé une collaboration entre les enseignants et l’orthophoniste des Opérations scolaires de la région Qikiqtani, un professeur d’université et plusieurs étudiants en orthophonie. L’élaboration de cet outil s’est faite à partir du contexte social et des caractéristiques de l’inuktitut et a aussi tenu compte des façons d’évaluer les outils de dépistage locaux.
ID 1069
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2011_CJSLPA_Vol_35/No_02_103-213/Dench_Cleave_Tagak_Beddard_CJSLPA_2011.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.