Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Speech-Language Pathologists’ Attitudes Towards People Who Stutter

 
Author(s) Eric Swartz
Rodney Gabel
Farzan Irani
Volume 33
Number 2
Year 2009
Page(s) 99-105
Language English
Category
Keywords attitudes
stereotyping
speech-language
pathologists
stuttering
Abstract This study explored the attitudes of speech-language pathologists (S-LP) towards people who stutter (PWS). A 14-item semantic differential scale was utilized to assess the S-LPs’ attitudes towards PWS and people who do not stutter (PWDS). In addition, the effect of familiarity and experiences with PWS was analyzed. The results showed that S-LPs have rather positive attitudes towards both PWS and PWDS. In addition, results of a multiple analysis of variance (MANOVA) showed that S-LPs perceived PWS more positively than PWDS on nine traits (sincere–insincere, likable–not likable, trustworthy–not trustworthy, physically normal–physically abnormal, reliable– unreliable, good sense of humor–poor sense of humor, mentally stable–mentally unstable, intelligent–unintelligent, and employable–unemployable). There appeared to be little effect for familiarity and experience with PWS on S-LPs’ attitudes towards PWS.

La présente étude explore les attitudes des orthophonistes à l’égard des personnes bègues. Une échelle sémantique différentielle à 14 points a servi à évaluer les attitudes des orthophonistes envers les personnes bègues et les personnes non bègues. On a aussi analysé l’effet de la familiarité et de l’expérience avec les personnes bègues. Les résultats indiquent que les orthophonistes ont une attitude plutôt positive à l’égard tant des bègues que des non-bègues. Par ailleurs, les résultats d’une analyse multivariée (MANOVA) montrent que les orthophonistes perçoivent les personnes bègues de manière plus positive que les personnes non-bègues pour neuf traits (sincère–non sincère, aimable–non aimable, digne de confi ance–non digne de confi ance, normal sur le plan physique–anormal sur le plan physique, fi able–non fi able, doué d’un bon sens de l’humour–non doué d’un bon sens de l’humour, stable mentalement–non stable mentalement, intelligent–pas intelligent, et apte à l’emploi–non apte à l’emploi). Il semble y avoir peut d’effet de la familiarité et de l’expérience avec les personnes bègues sur les attitudes des orthophonistes à l’égard de ces personnes.
Record ID 980
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2009_CJSLPA_Vol_33/No_02_77-112/Swartz_Gabel_Irani_CJSLPA_2009.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Speech-Language Pathologists’ Attitudes Towards People Who Stutter

 
Auteur(s) Eric Swartz
Rodney Gabel
Farzan Irani
Volume 33
Nombre 2
Année 2009
Page(s) 99-105
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés attitudes
stereotyping
speech-language
pathologists
stuttering
Abrégé This study explored the attitudes of speech-language pathologists (S-LP) towards people who stutter (PWS). A 14-item semantic differential scale was utilized to assess the S-LPs’ attitudes towards PWS and people who do not stutter (PWDS). In addition, the effect of familiarity and experiences with PWS was analyzed. The results showed that S-LPs have rather positive attitudes towards both PWS and PWDS. In addition, results of a multiple analysis of variance (MANOVA) showed that S-LPs perceived PWS more positively than PWDS on nine traits (sincere–insincere, likable–not likable, trustworthy–not trustworthy, physically normal–physically abnormal, reliable– unreliable, good sense of humor–poor sense of humor, mentally stable–mentally unstable, intelligent–unintelligent, and employable–unemployable). There appeared to be little effect for familiarity and experience with PWS on S-LPs’ attitudes towards PWS.

La présente étude explore les attitudes des orthophonistes à l’égard des personnes bègues. Une échelle sémantique différentielle à 14 points a servi à évaluer les attitudes des orthophonistes envers les personnes bègues et les personnes non bègues. On a aussi analysé l’effet de la familiarité et de l’expérience avec les personnes bègues. Les résultats indiquent que les orthophonistes ont une attitude plutôt positive à l’égard tant des bègues que des non-bègues. Par ailleurs, les résultats d’une analyse multivariée (MANOVA) montrent que les orthophonistes perçoivent les personnes bègues de manière plus positive que les personnes non-bègues pour neuf traits (sincère–non sincère, aimable–non aimable, digne de confi ance–non digne de confi ance, normal sur le plan physique–anormal sur le plan physique, fi able–non fi able, doué d’un bon sens de l’humour–non doué d’un bon sens de l’humour, stable mentalement–non stable mentalement, intelligent–pas intelligent, et apte à l’emploi–non apte à l’emploi). Il semble y avoir peut d’effet de la familiarité et de l’expérience avec les personnes bègues sur les attitudes des orthophonistes à l’égard de ces personnes.
ID 980
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2009_CJSLPA_Vol_33/No_02_77-112/Swartz_Gabel_Irani_CJSLPA_2009.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.