Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

The Role of the Audiologist and Family Support Worker in the Ontario Infant Hearing Program: A Team Approach

 
Author(s) Christine L. Brown
Sandra Mackenzie
Volume 29
Number 3
Year 2005
Page(s) 106-111
Language English
Category
Keywords universal
newborn
hearing
screening
early
detection
and
intervention
program
evaluation
family-centred
care
interdisciplinary
collaboration
Abstract The Infant Hearing Program is an Ontario provincial initiative funded by the Ministry of Children and Youth Services. The program’s aim is to identify children born deaf or hard-of-hearing and facilitate early access to habilitation services by six months of age to support age-appropriate communication development. This article outlines the value of coordinating the roles of service providers across the habilitation continuum. The importance of following the child and family through the process of screening, identification and habilitation are outlined from one regional program’s experience.



Le Programme de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et d’intervention précoce est une initiative du gouvernement ontarien financé par le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse. Ce programme vise à identifier les bébés qui naissent sourds ou malentendants et à leur fournir l’aide dont ils ont besoin avant l’âge de six mois pour faciliter l’acquisition du langage. Le présent article met en lumière l’importance de la coordination du rôle de tous les fournisseurs de services. Il se sert d’un programme régional pour faire valoir l’importance de suivre l’enfant et sa famille lors du dépistage, du diagnostic et de la réadaptation.
Record ID 906
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2005_JSLPA_Vol_29/No_03_101-140/Brown_Mackenzie_JSLPA_2005.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

The Role of the Audiologist and Family Support Worker in the Ontario Infant Hearing Program: A Team Approach

 
Auteur(s) Christine L. Brown
Sandra Mackenzie
Volume 29
Nombre 3
Année 2005
Page(s) 106-111
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés universal
newborn
hearing
screening
early
detection
and
intervention
program
evaluation
family-centred
care
interdisciplinary
collaboration
Abrégé The Infant Hearing Program is an Ontario provincial initiative funded by the Ministry of Children and Youth Services. The program’s aim is to identify children born deaf or hard-of-hearing and facilitate early access to habilitation services by six months of age to support age-appropriate communication development. This article outlines the value of coordinating the roles of service providers across the habilitation continuum. The importance of following the child and family through the process of screening, identification and habilitation are outlined from one regional program’s experience.



Le Programme de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et d’intervention précoce est une initiative du gouvernement ontarien financé par le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse. Ce programme vise à identifier les bébés qui naissent sourds ou malentendants et à leur fournir l’aide dont ils ont besoin avant l’âge de six mois pour faciliter l’acquisition du langage. Le présent article met en lumière l’importance de la coordination du rôle de tous les fournisseurs de services. Il se sert d’un programme régional pour faire valoir l’importance de suivre l’enfant et sa famille lors du dépistage, du diagnostic et de la réadaptation.
ID 906
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2005_JSLPA_Vol_29/No_03_101-140/Brown_Mackenzie_JSLPA_2005.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.