Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Developing Distortion Product Emission Measurements for Clinical Applications

 
Author(s) Anya Lee
Barry Kimberley
David Brown
Volume 17
Number 1
Year 1993
Page(s) 15-25
Language English
Category
Keywords distortion
product
emission
otoacoustic
Abstract Recently, distortion-product emissions (DPEs) have become an important area of both pure and applied research. In this paper, we focus upon possible clinical applications of distortion-product emissions. In particular, the prediction of pure tone hearing sensitivity and issues relevant to the achievement of this goal are discussed. Factors that may have confounded previous correlational studies, such as noise rejection and signal analysis, are reviewed. The potential clinical applications of DPEs are identified and examples of various audiometric configurations and associated DPE recordings are also provided.



Les émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique sont devenues récemment un sujet important en recherche fondamentale et appliquée. Dans le présent document, nous énonçons des applications cliniques possibles des émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique. En particulier, la prédiction des seuils d'audibilité des sons purs et les questions relatives à l'atteinte de cet objectif sont abordées. Des facteurs qui auraient pu entraîner des erreurs dans des études de corrélation déjà effectuées, notamment sur l'élimination du bruit et l'analyse du signal, sont évalués. Suivent une description des applications cliniques possibles des émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique et des exemples de diverses configurations audiométriques et d'enregistrements d'émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique.
Record ID 299
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/No_01_1-74/Lee_Kimberley_Brown_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Developing Distortion Product Emission Measurements for Clinical Applications

 
Auteur(s) Anya Lee
Barry Kimberley
David Brown
Volume 17
Nombre 1
Année 1993
Page(s) 15-25
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés distortion
product
emission
otoacoustic
Abrégé Recently, distortion-product emissions (DPEs) have become an important area of both pure and applied research. In this paper, we focus upon possible clinical applications of distortion-product emissions. In particular, the prediction of pure tone hearing sensitivity and issues relevant to the achievement of this goal are discussed. Factors that may have confounded previous correlational studies, such as noise rejection and signal analysis, are reviewed. The potential clinical applications of DPEs are identified and examples of various audiometric configurations and associated DPE recordings are also provided.



Les émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique sont devenues récemment un sujet important en recherche fondamentale et appliquée. Dans le présent document, nous énonçons des applications cliniques possibles des émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique. En particulier, la prédiction des seuils d'audibilité des sons purs et les questions relatives à l'atteinte de cet objectif sont abordées. Des facteurs qui auraient pu entraîner des erreurs dans des études de corrélation déjà effectuées, notamment sur l'élimination du bruit et l'analyse du signal, sont évalués. Suivent une description des applications cliniques possibles des émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique et des exemples de diverses configurations audiométriques et d'enregistrements d'émissions de produits de distorsion acoustique.
ID 299
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/1993_JSLPA_Vol_17/No_01_1-74/Lee_Kimberley_Brown_JSLPA_1993.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.