Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Syntactic Comprehension of Kindergarten French-Speaking Children with Developmental Language Disorder: Simple and Complex Sentences

 
Author(s) Élody Ross-Lévesque
Chantal Desmarais
Caroline Arsenault
Geneviève Demers-Jacques
Volume 43
Number 1
Year 2019
Page(s) 1-20
Language French
Category Research Article
Keywords Trouble développemental du langage
Compréhension
Syntaxe
Abstract Children with developmental language disorder have difficulties with the grammatical features of language. This creates communicative challenges in many aspects of their lives. There is limited data on the syntactic comprehension of French-speaking children with developmental language disorder. This study explores the comprehension of simple and complex sentences among francophone kindergarten children with developmental language disorder. A sentence comprehension task was used. Results showed that kindergarten children with developmental language disorder have greater difficulty understanding syntactically complex sentences compared to typically developing children, especially relative, passive, pronominal sentences and wh-questions.

Les enfants ayant un trouble développemental du langage ont un déficit marqué à maîtriser la grammaire de leur langue, ce qui les place à risque d’avoir des difficultés communicatives dans plusieurs sphères de leur vie. Or, peu de données franco-québécoises sont actuellement disponibles sur la compréhension syntaxique des enfants ayant un trouble développemental du langage. Cette étude vise à explorer les habiletés de compréhension de phrases simples et complexes des enfants franco-québécois de maternelle ayant un trouble développemental du langage. Une tâche de compréhension de phrases a été utilisée. Les résultats montrent que les enfants de maternelle ayant un trouble développemental du langage ont plus de difficultés à comprendre les phrases complexes que les enfants au développement typique, notamment les phrases relatives, passives, avec un pronom en position objet et les questions avec le pronom interrogatif « qui ».
Record ID 1235
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files//2019_CJSLPA_Vol_43/No_1/CJSLPA_Vol_43_No_1_2019_MS_1109.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

La compréhension syntaxique des enfants de maternelle ayant un trouble développemental du langage : phrases simples et complexes

 
Auteur(s) Élody Ross-Lévesque
Chantal Desmarais
Caroline Arsenault
Geneviève Demers-Jacques
Volume 43
Nombre 1
Année 2019
Page(s) 1-20
Langue Français
Catégorie Article de recherche
Mots-clés Trouble développemental du langage
Compréhension
Syntaxe
Abrégé Children with developmental language disorder have difficulties with the grammatical features of language. This creates communicative challenges in many aspects of their lives. There is limited data on the syntactic comprehension of French-speaking children with developmental language disorder. This study explores the comprehension of simple and complex sentences among francophone kindergarten children with developmental language disorder. A sentence comprehension task was used. Results showed that kindergarten children with developmental language disorder have greater difficulty understanding syntactically complex sentences compared to typically developing children, especially relative, passive, pronominal sentences and wh-questions.

Les enfants ayant un trouble développemental du langage ont un déficit marqué à maîtriser la grammaire de leur langue, ce qui les place à risque d’avoir des difficultés communicatives dans plusieurs sphères de leur vie. Or, peu de données franco-québécoises sont actuellement disponibles sur la compréhension syntaxique des enfants ayant un trouble développemental du langage. Cette étude vise à explorer les habiletés de compréhension de phrases simples et complexes des enfants franco-québécois de maternelle ayant un trouble développemental du langage. Une tâche de compréhension de phrases a été utilisée. Les résultats montrent que les enfants de maternelle ayant un trouble développemental du langage ont plus de difficultés à comprendre les phrases complexes que les enfants au développement typique, notamment les phrases relatives, passives, avec un pronom en position objet et les questions avec le pronom interrogatif « qui ».
ID 1235
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files//2019_CJSLPA_Vol_43/No_1/CJSLPA_Vol_43_No_1_2019_MS_1109.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.