Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Attaining the lingual components of /r/ with ultrasound for three adolescents with cochlear implants

 
Author(s) Penelope Bacsfalvi
Volume 34
Number 3
Year 2010
Page(s) 206-217
Language English
Category
Keywords single
subject
design
hearing
impairment
CIs
lingual
gestures
speech
therapy
and
ultrasound
Abstract Children with hearing loss frequently have diffi culty learning North American English /r/. The purpose of the present study was to investigate the remediation of North American English /r/ by establishing its tongue movement components for three adolescents with recent cochlear implants (CIs) through the use of ultrasound as an adjunct to speech therapy. The three adolescents had all been diagnosed with severe-to-profound bilateral sensorineural hearing loss, and had recently received unilateral CIs. All three students wore a hearing aid in their other ear. Ultrasound was used to assist in establishing the gestural components of /r/ as a starting point for accurate /r/ production: tongue root retraction, retrofl exion or bunching and midline grooving. A single subject design was used, with analyses of the gestural components of /r/ before, during and after intervention. All participants were able to learn the gestural components of /r/ with ultrasound. Furthermore, one of the participants gained accurate production of /r/ in isolation and at the word level.

Les enfants ayant une perte auditive ont souvent de la diffi culté à apprendre le son /r/ de l’anglais nord-américain. La présente étude visait à examiner la correction de la production du /r/ de l’anglais nord-américain en établissant les mouvements linguaux nécessaires à sa production à l’aide d’ultrasons en plus de la thérapie orthophonique chez trois adolescents ayant un implant cochléaire. Les trois adolescents avaient eu un diagnostic d’une surdité neurosensorielle bilatérale sévère à profonde et avaient récemment reçu un implant cochléaire unilatéral. Les trois portaient un appareil auditif à l’autre oreille. Les ultrasons ont servi à établir les composantes gestuelles du /r/ comme point de départ pour la production adéquate de ce son : la rétraction, la rétrofl exion ou l’épaississement de la base de la langue et la formation d’un creux médian. L’étude utilise une méthode à sujet unique où l’analyse des composantes gestuelles du /r/ a été effectuée avant, pendant et après l’intervention. Tous les participants ont pu apprendre les composantes gestuelles du /r/ à l’aide des ultrasons. De plus, un des participants a acquis une production précise du /r/ en isolation et dans un mot.
Record ID 1030
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2010_CJSLPA_Vol_34/No_03_153-225/Bacsfalvi_CJSLPA_2010.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Attaining the lingual components of /r/ with ultrasound for three adolescents with cochlear implants

 
Auteur(s) Penelope Bacsfalvi
Volume 34
Nombre 3
Année 2010
Page(s) 206-217
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés single
subject
design
hearing
impairment
CIs
lingual
gestures
speech
therapy
and
ultrasound
Abrégé Children with hearing loss frequently have diffi culty learning North American English /r/. The purpose of the present study was to investigate the remediation of North American English /r/ by establishing its tongue movement components for three adolescents with recent cochlear implants (CIs) through the use of ultrasound as an adjunct to speech therapy. The three adolescents had all been diagnosed with severe-to-profound bilateral sensorineural hearing loss, and had recently received unilateral CIs. All three students wore a hearing aid in their other ear. Ultrasound was used to assist in establishing the gestural components of /r/ as a starting point for accurate /r/ production: tongue root retraction, retrofl exion or bunching and midline grooving. A single subject design was used, with analyses of the gestural components of /r/ before, during and after intervention. All participants were able to learn the gestural components of /r/ with ultrasound. Furthermore, one of the participants gained accurate production of /r/ in isolation and at the word level.

Les enfants ayant une perte auditive ont souvent de la diffi culté à apprendre le son /r/ de l’anglais nord-américain. La présente étude visait à examiner la correction de la production du /r/ de l’anglais nord-américain en établissant les mouvements linguaux nécessaires à sa production à l’aide d’ultrasons en plus de la thérapie orthophonique chez trois adolescents ayant un implant cochléaire. Les trois adolescents avaient eu un diagnostic d’une surdité neurosensorielle bilatérale sévère à profonde et avaient récemment reçu un implant cochléaire unilatéral. Les trois portaient un appareil auditif à l’autre oreille. Les ultrasons ont servi à établir les composantes gestuelles du /r/ comme point de départ pour la production adéquate de ce son : la rétraction, la rétrofl exion ou l’épaississement de la base de la langue et la formation d’un creux médian. L’étude utilise une méthode à sujet unique où l’analyse des composantes gestuelles du /r/ a été effectuée avant, pendant et après l’intervention. Tous les participants ont pu apprendre les composantes gestuelles du /r/ à l’aide des ultrasons. De plus, un des participants a acquis une production précise du /r/ en isolation et dans un mot.
ID 1030
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/2010_CJSLPA_Vol_34/No_03_153-225/Bacsfalvi_CJSLPA_2010.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.