Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Ancillary Aural Rehabilitation Services for Adult Cochlear Implant Recipients: A Review and Analysis of the Literature

 
Author(s) Jean-Pierre Gagné
Volume 16
Number 2
Year 1992
Page(s) 121-128
Language English
Category
Keywords aural
rehabilitation
cochlear
implant
auditory
Abstract This article provides a review and analysis of ancillary aural rehabilitation programs provided to adult postlingually deafened cochlear implant recipients. The benefits of cochlear implants that have been reported in the literature are summarized briefly. Then, the components of ancillary aural rehabilitation programs designed for adult cochlear implant recipients are described. Studies that investigated the effectiveness of post-implant ancillary aural rehabilitation programs are reviewed. The results of those investigations are critically analyzed. Finally, the need and direction for further research in this area is presented.


L'article présente une revue et une analyse des programmes auxiliaires de réadaptation auditive pour les adultes avec surdité postlinguistique et qui ont un implant cochléaire. L'article décrit les advantages de l'implant cochléaire et en donne un bref résumé. Il décrit ensuite les composantes des programmes auxiliaires de réadaptation auditive conçus pour les adultes ayant un implant cochléaire. Des études sur l'efficacité des programmes auxiliaires de réadaptation auditive après implantation ont été examinées. Les résultats de ces études sont analysés d'une façon critique. Enfin, il est question de la nécessité d'effectuer des recherches ultérieures et de l'orientation de ces recherches.
Record ID 356
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/1992_JSLPA_Vol_16/No_02_89-176/Gagne_JSLPA_1992.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Ancillary Aural Rehabilitation Services for Adult Cochlear Implant Recipients: A Review and Analysis of the Literature

 
Auteur(s) Jean-Pierre Gagné
Volume 16
Nombre 2
Année 1992
Page(s) 121-128
Langue Anglais
Catégorie
Mots-clés aural
rehabilitation
cochlear
implant
auditory
Abrégé This article provides a review and analysis of ancillary aural rehabilitation programs provided to adult postlingually deafened cochlear implant recipients. The benefits of cochlear implants that have been reported in the literature are summarized briefly. Then, the components of ancillary aural rehabilitation programs designed for adult cochlear implant recipients are described. Studies that investigated the effectiveness of post-implant ancillary aural rehabilitation programs are reviewed. The results of those investigations are critically analyzed. Finally, the need and direction for further research in this area is presented.


L'article présente une revue et une analyse des programmes auxiliaires de réadaptation auditive pour les adultes avec surdité postlinguistique et qui ont un implant cochléaire. L'article décrit les advantages de l'implant cochléaire et en donne un bref résumé. Il décrit ensuite les composantes des programmes auxiliaires de réadaptation auditive conçus pour les adultes ayant un implant cochléaire. Des études sur l'efficacité des programmes auxiliaires de réadaptation auditive après implantation ont été examinées. Les résultats de ces études sont analysés d'une façon critique. Enfin, il est question de la nécessité d'effectuer des recherches ultérieures et de l'orientation de ces recherches.
ID 356
Lien https://cjslpa.ca/files/1992_JSLPA_Vol_16/No_02_89-176/Gagne_JSLPA_1992.pdf
 

La RCOA est une revue en accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont disponibles sur Internet dès leur publication, et ce, pour tous les utilisateurs. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, rechercher ou fournir le lien vers le contenu intégral des articles, ou encore, à utiliser les articles à toutes autres fins légales.

La RCOA ne charge aucun frais pour le traitement ou la publication des manuscrits.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient les droits d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de la parution et numéro des pages), mais sans laisser entendre que OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser les documents à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.