Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Don’t Fade Into the Background: A randomized trial exploring the effects of message framing in audiology

 
Author(s) Bill Hodgetts
Amberley Ostevik
Daniel Aalto
Jacqueline Cummine
Volume 41
Number 2
Year 2017
Page(s) 175-202
Language English
Category Research Article
Keywords messaging
framing
hearing
loss
audiology
services
Abstract Importance: Eighty percent of people who might benefit from hearing aids do not use them. There are many potential reasons for this, including how we frame messages (advertisements) about hearing help and services.
Objective: To determine whether the attitudes and beliefs about seeking or recommending hearing services differs as a function of the type of message presented.
Design: We surveyed 769 adults (>18 years old) about their attitudes and beliefs around hearing loss and hearing aids. Individuals were randomly assigned to 1 of 4 messaging conditions: inclusionary, fact-based, exclusionary, and dissonant.
Results: Overall, there was a clear preference for the fact-based (average effect size = 0.52) and exclusionary messages (average effect size = 0.48) over the inclusionary message and the dissonant message. The dissonant message was considered to be neutral (subjects neither liked nor disliked it). In general, when considering hearing health, individuals would be more likely to seek or recommend services when presented with either a fact-based or exclusionary message compared to an inclusionary message.
Conclusions and Relevance: How we frame messages in audiology may have a substantial impact on the attitudes and beliefs around seeking or recommending hearing services. The results of this research help inform audiologists and other healthcare professionals about methods of framing messages regarding hearing services for those individuals who need, but have not yet sought, hearing help.

Importance : Quatre-vingts pour cent des individus qui pourraient bénéficier de prothèses auditives n’en utilisent pas. De nombreuses raisons peuvent expliquer cette situation, incluant la façon dont nous formulons les messages (publicités) à propos de l’aide et des services en audiologie.
Objectif : Déterminer si les attitudes et les croyances à propos de la recherche ou de la recommandation de services en audiologie diffèrent en fonction du type de message présenté.
Devis : Nous avons sondé 769 adultes (> 18 ans) à propos de leurs attitudes et de leurs croyances entourant la perte auditive et les prothèses auditives. Les individus ont été assignés de façon aléatoire à l’une des quatre conditions : message soulignant l’inclusion, message basé sur les faits, message soulignant l’exclusion et message dissonant.
Résultats : Dans l’ensemble, une préférence marquée a été notée pour le message basé sur les faits (moyenne de la taille de l’effet = 0,52) et celui soulignant l’exclusion (moyenne de la taille de l’effet = 0,48), lorsque comparés au message dissonant et celui soulignant l’inclusion. Le message dissonant était considéré neutre (les sujets y étaient indifférents). De façon générale, lorsqu’on considère la santé auditive, les individus seraient plus enclins à chercher ou à recommander des services lorsqu’on leur présente un message basé sur les faits ou un message soulignant l’exclusion, comparativement à un message soulignant l’inclusion.
Conclusion et pertinence : La façon dont nous formulons les messages en audiologie peut avoir un impact considérable sur les attitudes et les croyances entourant la recherche ou la recommandation de services en audiologie. Les résultats de cette étude contribuent à informer les audiologistes, ainsi que les autres professionnels de la santé, sur la façon de formuler les messages à propos des services en audiologie pour les individus qui ont besoin d’une aide auditive, mais qui n’ont pas encore été la chercher.
Record ID 1210
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2017_CJSLPA_Vol_41/No_02/CJSLPA_Vol_41_No_2_2017_Hodgetts_et_al_175-202.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Ne te fonds pas dans le décor : un essai aléatoire qui explore les effets de la formulation du message en audiologie

 
Auteur(s) Bill Hodgetts
Amberley Ostevik
Daniel Aalto
Jacqueline Cummine
Volume 41
Nombre 2
Année 2017
Page(s) 175-202
Langue Anglais
Catégorie Article de recherche
Mots-clés messaging
framing
hearing
loss
audiology
services
Abrégé Importance: Eighty percent of people who might benefit from hearing aids do not use them. There are many potential reasons for this, including how we frame messages (advertisements) about hearing help and services.
Objective: To determine whether the attitudes and beliefs about seeking or recommending hearing services differs as a function of the type of message presented.
Design: We surveyed 769 adults (>18 years old) about their attitudes and beliefs around hearing loss and hearing aids. Individuals were randomly assigned to 1 of 4 messaging conditions: inclusionary, fact-based, exclusionary, and dissonant.
Results: Overall, there was a clear preference for the fact-based (average effect size = 0.52) and exclusionary messages (average effect size = 0.48) over the inclusionary message and the dissonant message. The dissonant message was considered to be neutral (subjects neither liked nor disliked it). In general, when considering hearing health, individuals would be more likely to seek or recommend services when presented with either a fact-based or exclusionary message compared to an inclusionary message.
Conclusions and Relevance: How we frame messages in audiology may have a substantial impact on the attitudes and beliefs around seeking or recommending hearing services. The results of this research help inform audiologists and other healthcare professionals about methods of framing messages regarding hearing services for those individuals who need, but have not yet sought, hearing help.

Importance : Quatre-vingts pour cent des individus qui pourraient bénéficier de prothèses auditives n’en utilisent pas. De nombreuses raisons peuvent expliquer cette situation, incluant la façon dont nous formulons les messages (publicités) à propos de l’aide et des services en audiologie.
Objectif : Déterminer si les attitudes et les croyances à propos de la recherche ou de la recommandation de services en audiologie diffèrent en fonction du type de message présenté.
Devis : Nous avons sondé 769 adultes (> 18 ans) à propos de leurs attitudes et de leurs croyances entourant la perte auditive et les prothèses auditives. Les individus ont été assignés de façon aléatoire à l’une des quatre conditions : message soulignant l’inclusion, message basé sur les faits, message soulignant l’exclusion et message dissonant.
Résultats : Dans l’ensemble, une préférence marquée a été notée pour le message basé sur les faits (moyenne de la taille de l’effet = 0,52) et celui soulignant l’exclusion (moyenne de la taille de l’effet = 0,48), lorsque comparés au message dissonant et celui soulignant l’inclusion. Le message dissonant était considéré neutre (les sujets y étaient indifférents). De façon générale, lorsqu’on considère la santé auditive, les individus seraient plus enclins à chercher ou à recommander des services lorsqu’on leur présente un message basé sur les faits ou un message soulignant l’exclusion, comparativement à un message soulignant l’inclusion.
Conclusion et pertinence : La façon dont nous formulons les messages en audiologie peut avoir un impact considérable sur les attitudes et les croyances entourant la recherche ou la recommandation de services en audiologie. Les résultats de cette étude contribuent à informer les audiologistes, ainsi que les autres professionnels de la santé, sur la façon de formuler les messages à propos des services en audiologie pour les individus qui ont besoin d’une aide auditive, mais qui n’ont pas encore été la chercher.
ID 1210
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2017_CJSLPA_Vol_41/No_02/CJSLPA_Vol_41_No_2_2017_Hodgetts_et_al_175-202.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.