Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

Characteristics and outcomes of children with Auditory Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder

 
Author(s) Carmen Barreira-Nielsen, PhD
Elizabeth Fitzpatrick, PhD
JoAnne Whittingham, M.Sc.
Volume 40
Number 1
Year 2016
Page(s) 67-79
Language English
Category Research Article
Keywords auditory
neuropathy
spectrum
disorder
diagnosis
management
hearing
aids
cochlear
implants
rehabilitation
Abstract Background. Auditory neuropathy spectrum disorder (ANSD) has been reported in up to 10% of all children with hearing loss. It is widely accepted that it can be difficult to identify and manage children with ANSD through typical clinical procedures, in comparison to children with sensorineural hearing loss (SNHL). An important limitation in managing children with ANSD is that behavioral pure-tone audiograms are less predictive of a child’s intervention needs with respect to amplification and early rehabilitation. The objective of this study was to characterize the clinical profiles and audiological management of children with ANSD followed through a provincial universal newborn hearing screening (UNHS) program in one region of Canada from 2003-2013.

Methods. Population-based data were collected at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), Ottawa, Canada between 2003 and 2013 for all children who were diagnosed with ANSD. Detailed characteristics were extracted including screening status, etiology, risk factors, and severity of hearing loss. Diagnostic, amplification, and intervention outcomes were also documented.

Results. Analyses of 418 children indicated that 22 (5.3%) children were identified with ANSD and more than 30% had other disabilities. Children were identified at a median age of 7.5 months (IQR: 4.7, 22.5), fitted with amplification at a median age of 17.3 months (IQR: 12.1, 26.6) and 12 underwent cochlear implantation at a median age 26.4 months (IQR: 18.0, 47.3).

Conclusion. More than 85.0% of children with ANSD are currently fitted with hearing aids or cochlear implants and have achieved some degree of open-set word recognition and communication development.

Contexte : Les troubles du spectre de neuropathie auditive (TSNA) ont été rapportés chez des enfants ayant une perte auditive, avec une prévalence pouvant s’élever jusqu’à 10 %. Il est largement reconnu que l’identification et la prise en charge effectuées auprès des enfants ayant un TSNA peuvent être difficiles avec les procédures cliniques courantes, lorsque comparées aux enfants ayant une perte auditive neurosensorielle. Une limitation importante de la prise en charge des enfants ayant un TSNA est le caractère prédictif diminué des audiogrammes tonals pour les besoins d’intervention de ces enfants en ce qui concerne l’amplification et l’intervention précoce. L’objectif de cette étude était de décrire les profils cliniques des enfants avec un TSNA, ainsi que leur prise en charge en audiologie, suite à l’application du programme provincial de dépistage universel de l’audition chez les nouveau-nés dans une région du Canada, entre 2003 et 2013.

Méthodologie : Les données démographiques ont été recueillies au Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario, Ottawa (Canada), et ce, pour tous les enfants diagnostiqués avec un TSNA entre 2003 et 2013. Des caractéristiques détaillées ont été extraites, ce qui inclut le statut de dépistage, l’étiologie, les facteurs de risque et la sévérité de la perte auditive. Le diagnostic, l’amplification et les résultats à l’intervention ont également été documentés.

Résultats : Les analyses effectuées auprès de 418 enfants ont montré que 22 des enfants (5,3 %) ont été identifiés avec un TSNA et plus de 30 % avaient d’autres difficultés. Les enfants ont été identifiés à un âge médian de 7,5 mois (EI : 4,7 – 22,5), ont été équipés avec une amplification à un âge médian de 17,3 mois (EI : 12,1- 26,6) et 12 ont reçu un implant cochléaire à un âge médian de 26,4 mois (EI : 18,0 - 47,3).

Conclusion : Plus de 85,0 % des enfants ayant un TSNA sont actuellement équipés d’appareils auditifs ou d’implants cochléaires, ont atteint un certain degré d’identification de mots en choix ouvert et ont développé un certain niveau de communication.
Record ID 1192
Link http://cjslpa.ca/files/2016_CJSLPA_Vol_40/No_01/CJSLPA_Vol_40_No_1_2016_Barreira-Nielsen_et_al_67-79.pdf
 
Share |

CJSLPA is an open access journal which means that all articles are available on the Internet to all users immediately upon publication. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose.

CJSLPA does not charge authors publication or processing fees.

Copyright of the Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is held by Speech-Language and Audiology Canada (SAC). Appropriate credit must be given (SAC, publication name, article title, volume number, issue number and page number[s]) but not in any way that suggests SAC endorses you or your use of the work. You may not use this work for commercial purposes. You may not alter, transform, or build upon this work.

Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie

Caractéristiques et évolution des enfants ayant un trouble du spectre de neuropathie auditive

 
Auteur(s) Carmen Barreira-Nielsen, PhD
Elizabeth Fitzpatrick, PhD
JoAnne Whittingham, M.Sc.
Volume 40
Nombre 1
Année 2016
Page(s) 67-79
Langue Anglais
Catégorie Article de recherche
Mots-clés auditory
neuropathy
spectrum
disorder
diagnosis
management
hearing
aids
cochlear
implants
rehabilitation
Abrégé Background. Auditory neuropathy spectrum disorder (ANSD) has been reported in up to 10% of all children with hearing loss. It is widely accepted that it can be difficult to identify and manage children with ANSD through typical clinical procedures, in comparison to children with sensorineural hearing loss (SNHL). An important limitation in managing children with ANSD is that behavioral pure-tone audiograms are less predictive of a child’s intervention needs with respect to amplification and early rehabilitation. The objective of this study was to characterize the clinical profiles and audiological management of children with ANSD followed through a provincial universal newborn hearing screening (UNHS) program in one region of Canada from 2003-2013.

Methods. Population-based data were collected at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), Ottawa, Canada between 2003 and 2013 for all children who were diagnosed with ANSD. Detailed characteristics were extracted including screening status, etiology, risk factors, and severity of hearing loss. Diagnostic, amplification, and intervention outcomes were also documented.

Results. Analyses of 418 children indicated that 22 (5.3%) children were identified with ANSD and more than 30% had other disabilities. Children were identified at a median age of 7.5 months (IQR: 4.7, 22.5), fitted with amplification at a median age of 17.3 months (IQR: 12.1, 26.6) and 12 underwent cochlear implantation at a median age 26.4 months (IQR: 18.0, 47.3).

Conclusion. More than 85.0% of children with ANSD are currently fitted with hearing aids or cochlear implants and have achieved some degree of open-set word recognition and communication development.

Contexte : Les troubles du spectre de neuropathie auditive (TSNA) ont été rapportés chez des enfants ayant une perte auditive, avec une prévalence pouvant s’élever jusqu’à 10 %. Il est largement reconnu que l’identification et la prise en charge effectuées auprès des enfants ayant un TSNA peuvent être difficiles avec les procédures cliniques courantes, lorsque comparées aux enfants ayant une perte auditive neurosensorielle. Une limitation importante de la prise en charge des enfants ayant un TSNA est le caractère prédictif diminué des audiogrammes tonals pour les besoins d’intervention de ces enfants en ce qui concerne l’amplification et l’intervention précoce. L’objectif de cette étude était de décrire les profils cliniques des enfants avec un TSNA, ainsi que leur prise en charge en audiologie, suite à l’application du programme provincial de dépistage universel de l’audition chez les nouveau-nés dans une région du Canada, entre 2003 et 2013.

Méthodologie : Les données démographiques ont été recueillies au Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario, Ottawa (Canada), et ce, pour tous les enfants diagnostiqués avec un TSNA entre 2003 et 2013. Des caractéristiques détaillées ont été extraites, ce qui inclut le statut de dépistage, l’étiologie, les facteurs de risque et la sévérité de la perte auditive. Le diagnostic, l’amplification et les résultats à l’intervention ont également été documentés.

Résultats : Les analyses effectuées auprès de 418 enfants ont montré que 22 des enfants (5,3 %) ont été identifiés avec un TSNA et plus de 30 % avaient d’autres difficultés. Les enfants ont été identifiés à un âge médian de 7,5 mois (EI : 4,7 – 22,5), ont été équipés avec une amplification à un âge médian de 17,3 mois (EI : 12,1- 26,6) et 12 ont reçu un implant cochléaire à un âge médian de 26,4 mois (EI : 18,0 - 47,3).

Conclusion : Plus de 85,0 % des enfants ayant un TSNA sont actuellement équipés d’appareils auditifs ou d’implants cochléaires, ont atteint un certain degré d’identification de mots en choix ouvert et ont développé un certain niveau de communication.
ID 1192
Lien http://cjslpa.ca/files/2016_CJSLPA_Vol_40/No_01/CJSLPA_Vol_40_No_1_2016_Barreira-Nielsen_et_al_67-79.pdf
 
Share |

La RCOA est une revue à accès libre, ce qui signifie que tous les articles sont accessibles sur Internet à tous les utilisateurs dès la publication. Les utilisateurs sont autorisés à lire, télécharger, copier, distribuer, imprimer, interroger ou référencer le contenu intégral des articles, ou à utiliser ce contenu à toutes autres fins licites.

La RCOA n’impose aucuns frais d’édition ou de traitement aux auteurs.

C’est l’Orthophonie et Audiologie Canada (OAC) qui détient le droit d’auteur de la Revue canadienne d’orthophonie et d’audiologie. Il faut mentionner la source (OAC, nom de la publication, titre de l’article, numéro du volume, numéro de parution et nombre de pages), mais sans laisser entendre que l’OAC vous approuve ou approuve l’utilisation que vous faites du texte. Il est interdit d’utiliser le document à des fins commerciales. Il est interdit de modifier, transformer ou développer le texte.